1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Sdcard cache speed tweak

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ron580, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    159
    64
    53
    college student
    If any of you guys are using link2sd, app2sd, a2sd etc. this will increase your sd card cache size default is 128kb to 1024kb which would therefore increase your read speeds resulting in faster load times of your applications.

    Here are my results without the init.d script. Benchmark called sd tools its in the market.
    [​IMG]

    Here is with the init.d script. read speeds jumped to 17.3mb/s
    [​IMG]

    Tutorial
    1.)Download script and place it to your sd card. link below.
    DOWNLOAD DOWN. WORKING ON A UPDATE
    2.)Download root explorer
    3.)Open up root explorer and navigate to /sdcard press and hold the script and select move
    4.)Navigate to /etc/init.d
    5.)mount to R/W
    6.)Paste script
    7.)press and hold script and select permissions and check read,write,and execute for owner,group and others
    7.)Mount R/O
    8.)Close root explorer and reboot
    9.)To test if its working open root explorer and navigate
    to /sys/devices/virtual/bdi/179:0/ tap on read-ahead-kb and view it on text viewer it should say 1024 or the cache size you selected

    The Cache size in this script is 1024kb which is perfect for the 2gb sd card that came with the prevail although if your using a different card with a higher memory capacity you might get better results by increasing the cache size. just replace 1024 in the script to one of these intervals 1024, 2048, 3072, 4096 and test out which works best for you.

    Easier Way
    There are programs in the market that will do this for you but they take up ram and run on every startup
     

    Advertisement

    johnny424 likes this.
  2. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    more useful info ..thank you sir i will also be trying this when i get my phone in working order
     
  3. thermalpaste

    thermalpaste Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    48
    30
    23
    sweet worked great thanks
     
  4. trenchkato

    trenchkato Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    507
    127
    93
    Atlanta, Georgia
    i use sd speed increase app... but as he said it does make the phone boot a little longer...
     
  5. 76ford90lx

    76ford90lx Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    532
    96
    78
    Q.A. Supervisor
    Riverside, CA
    Can you elaborate on #5 and the 2nd #7 please.
     
  6. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    159
    64
    53
    college student
    /etc/init.d is mounted as r/o meaning its "read only" so in order to paste the script you will have to mount /etc/init.d to r/w meaning "read and write". step 5.) to mount /etc/init.d to r/w navigate to /etc/init.d in root explorer and tap on the box located on the top that says mount r/w. step 7.) after pasting the script and giving its permissions tap on the same box located on the top to mount it back to r/o
     
  7. im a genius

    im a genius Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    162
    4
    36
    Florida
    nevermind i got it
     
  8. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    ok made changes..didnt change cache size ..didnt see how to..so i kept 1024

    heres my resluts----

    before change...write=6.9m/bs...read=18.6m/bs

    after change...write=16.9m/bs...read27.3m/bs

    pretty good i think..
     
  9. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    how do i change cache size incase i would like too?
     
  10. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    159
    64
    53
    college student
    open the script using wordpad on your desktop and you should see something like this.


    #!/system/bin/sh
    if [ -e /sys/devices/virtual/bdi/179:0/read_ahead_kb ]
    then
    /system/xbin/echo "1024" > /sys/devices/virtual/bdi/179:0/read_ahead_kb;
    fi;


    Replace 1024 to one of the values i listed in the tutorial
     
  11. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,313
    602
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    i just use rom toolbox to increase it
     

Share This Page

Loading...