1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Searching by "Organisation" in Address Book

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NiceCupOfTea, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. NiceCupOfTea

    NiceCupOfTea Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009

    Aug 24, 2009
    99
    0
    15
    Kent, UK
    On my old Windows Mobile phone in my address book I had companies listed in the "Organisations" field. They appeared in alphabetical order amongst the normal surname, forename entries and it worked really well.

    While searching my phone desperately for an urgent number today I found that not only does it not display the organisation but it refuses to search by it, making a good 25% of my numbers impossible to find!

    What can I do this, and please don't say go through all of my contacts by hand putting the business name in the "surname" field because that is so rubbish :mad:

    Help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. cwrig

    cwrig Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    220
    14
    38
    Lancaster, PA
    In GMAIL you could create a Group for each Organization; then add the contacts the appropriate groups. The groups get synced to the phone
     
  3. NiceCupOfTea

    NiceCupOfTea Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009

    Aug 24, 2009
    99
    0
    15
    Kent, UK
    Thanks - yes, I am still using the various groups I set up on my WM phone.

    It was the name of the company I was querying.

    For example: on WM I would have entries like this:

    Forename: John
    Surname: Smith
    Company:
    Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Forename: Dave
    Surname: Green
    Company: IBM
    Number: yyyyyyyyyyyyy

    Forename:
    Surname:
    Company: Nandos
    Number: zzzzzzzzzzzzz

    etc.

    Would appear as:

    Green, Dave
    Nandos
    Smith, John

    or

    Dave Green
    Nandos
    John Smith

    in the phonebook depending on the firstname,lastname setup.

    The point is that I could use the organisation field, but on Android it just looks like a blank record in the phonebook...
     
  4. jaybea830802

    jaybea830802 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009

    Jul 24, 2009
    90
    10
    18
    Manchester, UK
    I have the same problem. The HTC People application and Dialler only looks in the Organisation field if there is nothing in the Name field. Where I have a Company in Outlook, this is converted to Organistion: Work: [CompanyName] in the People application.

    I have tried using aTakePhone which I used on my Palm and is supposed to be able to search on Company Name and Notes in Contacts. It cannot do this on the Hero.

    Good as the phone is, the Calendar and the People application are not really business class applications - lets hope that some alternatives come along. I have heard that the original Android calendar is better than the HTC one, so perhaps the same applies to the People application.

    Update: Having RTFM for aTAKEphONE I realise that it can search on Company Name, but you have to select this as an option in the settings and then let it index your contacts. It will then list all of the people who work for the selected company.

    J
     
  5. TAKEphONE

    TAKEphONE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009

    Hi,

    The Android contacts database does not allow for efficient search in the companies fields as it is (cause it's stored in a different database).

    So to allow searching the companies data must be indexed.

    Since this takes more time, I decided to add this as an option turned off by default.
     
  6. tebbybabes

    tebbybabes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I realize that this is an old thread but I stumbled upon it while googling for a way to search organizations through my contacts.

    I don't know if this will apply, but I eventually managed to make it work.

    Searching for organizations via the people search yielded a big fat zero.

    However, if I used the global search button (its a hardware button on my HTC legend, right beside the back key) and clicked the drop down options to search in people rather than the default ALL, it works!

    Can't imagine why it doesn't work in people search NOR if I keep the default search of ALL. If I keep it at default, I end up with a google listing of the company, not the contact that I have saved working for that company. Weird!

    As an aside, what is aTAKEphONE?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...