1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Security app recomendation and need to be phone administrator

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by paulri, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. paulri

    paulri Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #692
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013

    Sep 2, 2013
    38
    9
    16
    I was having problems with Malwarebytes on Android (kept freezing, even after uninstalling and reinstalling) so I am looking for a new one. The only name I recognized from the Google Play store that did not say that they would feed me ads (or in-app purchases) was Sophos. I am ok with this, but after installing, it keeps telling me that it needs to be the phone adminstrator to prevent being uninstalled.

    Is this normal for a security app? I don't recall Malwarebytes continually nagging me for this. I'd like to be able to easily uninstall this app if I ever want to, so I'm not sure why I'd want to make it a phone administrator. Anyways, if this is not a reasonable demand from Sophos, are there any other free antimalware apps that don't have ads or nag me to buy stuff?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Actually, security apps are one of the worst apps that you can have. They always run, consuming battery and other resources sometimes slowing down your phone.
    This app needs your permission to run constantly in the background.
     
    svim likes this.
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    It's normal. Big name AV apps with security features like BitDefender, Kaspersky, and Avast also ask for this permission. Not that you actually need one though
     
    svim likes this.
  4. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,757
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,757
    2,796
    608
    Illinois
    If the Malwarebytes app is locking up on your phone that's a sign there's something wrong. Not necessarily an exploit issue but maybe an operating system functionality issue. When you tried to reinstall it, when doing the uninstall, are you also using the 'Clear data' button before you do the reinstall? Also, just to confirm, you're using Google Play to do the install and not some downloaded apk?
    Was the Malwarebytes app freezing during an actual scan or just randomly?

    Take note of what previous comments have referred to regarding the actual necessity for an Android malware/anti-virus utility -- are you having actual problems or just doing some kind of preemptive action that's typical for a Windows system?
     

Share This Page

Loading...