1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

seemingly easy questions that have me stumped

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Xandria, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    154
    9
    56
    Portland area
    1. How can I delete an entire string of text messages in one fell swoop? I can delete them one at a time, but I just had to delete 44 text messages (an entire conversation between me and a friend) and I'd really like to know how to do this in bulk! (I am using Handcent SMS).

    2. I can get the default ringtone to change, but I cannot figure out how to make each contact have its own ringtone. The manual says to go to the contact itself and then select "information" and then "ringtone," however, I cannot select these parts. They are grayed out. How to do this?!?!

    3. I want the text alerts to only give off a sound, NOT a vibration and a sound. I went into the tools for Handcent and clicked the "vibrate only when device is set to vibrate mode" but it still vibrates. How can I make this work?

    4. Is there a "help" section on the phone itself? Something I can search on the phone itself when I get stumped like this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    I can only help you with 2 and 4 ... because I do not use Handcent as I have found it to be laggy at times. I use the Stock app. Many users here use Handcent, so I am sure someone will help you in regards to that. Anyways...


    2. Go to People>Select the contact>Click MENU>Edit>Get rid of the Keyboard (hit the little keyboard icon in the bottom left of the screen)>Select the down arrow under Ring tone section> Find the ring tone you want that person to have>Select OK> Click MENU > Select SAVE (very important)

    4. I don't know of a self help on the phone itself, but here is the PDF of the owners manual and it gives you a "key word" search option, which helps me at times. http://support.sprint.com/global/pdf/user_guides/htc/hero/htc_hero_ug.pdf
     
    Xandria likes this.
  3. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA
    1. Click on the thread convo, hit menu<more<delete thread.
    2. You should be able to go to the ringtone itself, it should give you an option to set it as a ringtone or as a contact ringtone.
    3. IDK, my options do what they say.
    4. Menu<Settings<About Phone<System Tutorial. But it just tells you to go to HTC.com/hero
     
    Xandria likes this.
  4. looneylu

    looneylu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    67
    1
    16
    Student
    Providence, RI
    1. Long press the conversation you want to delete. When menu pops up, press delete...

    3. Try uninstalling and reinstalling handcent. I have no problem with the setup how you described it.
     
    Xandria likes this.
  5. dhero

    dhero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    For (4.) I have an application in my "All Programs" list called "HTC Mobile Guide" which takes me to a search and hyperlink enabled, small screen rendering, of the user guide.
     
    Xandria likes this.
  6. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    154
    9
    56
    Portland area
    Of course!! Duh. I always forget about the LOOOONG press. :rolleyes: Thanks!
     
  7. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    154
    9
    56
    Portland area
    Perfect! Thanks!
     
  8. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    154
    9
    56
    Portland area

    Ah, took me a while, but I have finally realized that when people say "select" they mean that LOOOONG press thing. Once I actually "selected" the contact, instead of just clicked on it, I got it to work great!!
     
  9. LastFrontierLabs

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    53
    0
    15
    North Pole, Alaska
    When I had trouble with ringtones, I downloaded Ringdroid. Seemed to make things easier even when it came to assigning the tones.

    Without downloading ringdroid, make sure you have a ringtone folder and once the tones have been put there, shut off the phone. When you turn it back on, it might have fixed the grey issue.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...