1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

sending pics via messaging

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pippin65, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. pippin65

    pippin65 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    43
    1
    16
    hi, so far I love my sprint hero, but am on the fence about sprint itself. tons of people have told me how they hated sprints service, customer service, etc...
    my wife and I thought the ability to send pics via messaging is a cool feature however it doesn't appear to work all that well...
    have tried the built in and also handcent messaging... am connected currently via my wifi at home and that doesn't help either. i realize there are probably size restrictions ( size anyone) but it should work sometimes. also the voice record feature on handsentend feature doesn't work either... any tips or tricks would be appreciated...:eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    Not too sure about the question. You love the Hero but are saying it doesn't work for you? Or are you saying you love the Hero but because it is Sprint it doesn't work for you? I'm not quite sure.
     
  3. pippin65

    pippin65 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    43
    1
    16
    the sending pictures in messages does not work... the other part of my question was designed to elicit responses as to whether peeps on the board like/hate/ or are satisfied with sprints service....
    was my question that lame and poorly written OR are you being difficult?:thinking:
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Use the stock app, turn your mobile internet on.

    After you take the picture go to Albums and choose "crop" then share it via text.


    Mms will not work via WiFi.
     
  5. DFRESH

    DFRESH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    559
    39
    88
    The Bay Area SF/Oak
    Pippin, when you are using Wi-fi you can not send pics through handcent or stock sms. Turn wi-fi off and use sprint network in order to be able to send pictures.

    And you can only send files up to 1mb through your phone, that goes pretty much for any other network out there.
     
  6. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    Truthfully, I have had far, far fewer problems with Sprint than I had with Cingular/ATT. Customer service has been good so far, can't say that about my previous carrier.
     
  7. KruegerNerd

    KruegerNerd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    I'm also having trouble sending pictures. The message I get is that it's saying the file is too large to send. I'm a little confused because especially with the technology we have nowadays, and the fact that this is a smart phone, don't you think if it can take a picture on the phone, that it will send the picture??? Or at least automatically resize it to a sending size??? I text pictures back and forth all the time to friends, but every time I want to send a picture, I have to go and open PicSay and load the pic in there and send it. That's kind of a hassle for a brand new phone with "loads" of technology. Just seems like something Sprint must've overlooked, ya know???
     
  8. KruegerNerd

    KruegerNerd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    .... and then when I took my phone to the Sprint store to figure it out, I was talking to a rep who had the same phone as I did. He told me that his phone automatically resized the pic so it would send, but that it was through handcent. I proceeded to tell him that I've tried handcent and the messaging app that came with the Hero, and he just friggin ignored me and was like "Well IDK because mine automatically does it for me".... so I was like "Okay well do I have a faulty phone then or something?" and he said "No, you prob just need to restart it or something, or just hit the home key and try again."

    Obviously he had no idea what the hell he was talking about, and I got absolutely no help at all, and his suggestions didn't work, like I figured.
     
  9. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Handcent SHOULD resize the pic automatically, it always has for me so I have no idea why it wouldn't for you. There might be a setting in the app somewhere, but I don't think so. There's only the "max mms size setting", and mine is at 300

    edit: It sometimes takes 2 hits of the "resize" button when I try to send a pic though
     
  10. Drewray

    Drewray Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    31
    5
    16
    Philly
    I have found that you need to disable your Wi-Fi to send picture messages. It doesn't always work when connected to a Wi-Fi network. FYI
     
  11. Drewray

    Drewray Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    31
    5
    16
    Philly

    If you're taking pic's with the the very nice 5 mega pixel camera built in the Hero... then you probably need to lower the resolution in the camera. This will result in a smaller pic file that you should be able to send via messaging. I experienced the identical issue, lowered the "quality" setting on the camera, and have not experienced anymore size limitation messages. FYI
     
  12. MikeMcG

    MikeMcG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    114
    3
    56
    Electrician
    NJ
    If you use Handcent, the picture automatically resize. At least they do for me. I have the picture setting on my camera set high, so that shouldn't be a problem. Just make sure you are in Handcent and hit Menu then attach. If you are in your photo album and click share, the stock messaging app takes over and usually will tell you that the file is too large to send.
     
  13. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    The first time you click share from the albums, I think it should ask which program to use, and you can select Handcent.
     
  14. MikeMcG

    MikeMcG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    114
    3
    56
    Electrician
    NJ
    Your right, thanks.
     
  15. FlyerDroid

    FlyerDroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    24
    1
    36
    I have been with Sprint for over six months now, and I love it. I came from T-mobile, which was good too, but the Sprint's pricing is hard to beat. As for MMS, I have the Hero and I have no issues with sending pictures. My wife and I exchange MMS all the time, all without a problem. I use hancent too, it always asks me to resize the pic.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...