1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sense/Froyo 2.2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andygu3, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,391
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,391
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
  3. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I see they got GPS working. Unfortunately, it looks like Bluetooth and the camera are still down for the count for now.

    I am definitely keeping an eye on this ROM. This is really what I have wanted since I first heard about Android 2.2 so many months ago.
     
  4. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Hell to the yes!!! :D
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,391
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,391
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Still love my AOSP, I love senseless, and I need my Bluetooth :D
     
  6. the CP

    the CP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    46
    8
    36
    There are things I like about both Sense and "vanilla".

    Once Sense 2.2 becomes more stable, I'll run it with Launcher Pro Plus and the vanilla lock and be happy.
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you are going to use launcher pro, why use a sense rom then?:thinking:
     
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Haha! I was going to ask the same thing but you beat me to it.

    I think I would go with the AOSP Android 2.2 ROM and then get Launcher Pro. That would be ideal for me in that situation!
     
  9. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    +1:)
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,391
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,391
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Exacty what I am using and loving it


     
  11. the CP

    the CP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    46
    8
    36
    I'm using CM6.1 now, and love it. I like the Sense style status bar. I've tweaked the CM6.1 bar as much as I can to make it look close, but it's still not perfect.

    I sat in class one night, bored as hell, and listed out what would be the perfect rom. It was bits of AOSP/CM and pieces of Sense. Maybe if I ever learn to develop roms I'll make it :)
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Still, the HTC sense overlay is still the best out there, imo;) even though I like the speed of aosp roms
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,391
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,391
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    AOSP is coming out with something more lean and mean, can't wait, I feel the need for speed, LOL :D


     
  14. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Whats AOSP? >.<
     
  15. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    AOSP stands for Android Open Source Project. It basically means Android is an open operating system and whatnot. In terms of an Android ROM, however, it basically means it is a stock Android ROM, without a skin on top. If you look at how Android is on a stock Google Nexus One, that is a completely stock ROM, with a skin.

    You can read more about it here: Welcome to Android | Android Open Source .
     
  16. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    180
    21
    38
    I have switched to nonsense ROMs several times and always end up back at Fresh due to the mail, calendar and contact clients. I think they are superior to the clients in CM6. So I run ADW on Fresh. I miss out on the nice sense widgets, but still get the better apps.
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    To each their own, I'd rather give widgets and such for the speed of AOSP roms like CM6 and aosp

    But HTC sense is still the best
     
  18. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    ahhhh okay... thats why i love HTC products because of their skins on top xD
     
  19. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    180
    21
    38
    So what actually makes a ROM sense? Launcher? Widgets? Apps? There are a ton of differences between asop and sense. If I can change them all one at a time when does my sense become asop?
     
  20. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Sense is HTC's Stock Rom -
    You can't make changes to sense then all of a sudden its not Sense anymore.
    You CAN flash a non-Sense Rom.....
     
  21. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    HTC and AOSP roms have different frameworks. No HTC sense widgets and such will work with CM6 or aosp 0.9.8
     
  22. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    180
    21
    38
    You came pretty close to answering my poorly phased question. :eek:

    So my original assumption was that Sense was just HTC's custom launcher so they could differentiate themselves some. Since widgets are highly UI dependent, it seems logical they won't run on other launchers. But it gets extended beyond launcher into things like status bar, lock screens, etc. Still all UI related, so still understandable.

    But the hooks seem to go deeper and there are more significant differences when you look at how HTC apps work. Most notably the mail client and it interacts with Exchange. Every ROM and each version (1.5, 2.1, 2.2, ...) that I have seen handles this differently and very few of them well. I am curious where these differences reside. Is it in the app, ROM or somewhere in between. Can I run HTC's apps on ASOP ROMS? How about stock apps on ASOP?

    Sorry for the long winded post. Maybe I need to be referred to an Android architecture site and let me fend for myself. ;)
     
  23. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,391
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,391
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Stock apps yes, HTC apps no they are proprietary


     
  24. add119

    add119 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    36
    1
    16
    Male
    Hopefully the developers can add Htc hubs apk and htc like on this rom.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...