1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Sense UI and Facebook contacts?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AkoCham, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. AkoCham

    AkoCham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    Back when my friend first got her Droid, she showed me that she synched her Facebook account to her phone and all of her contacts were from Facebook. Does this still work the same way for HTC's Sense UI?

    I know that you can synch your Facebook account to the Incredible but does it actually make all of your contacts your Facebook friends? This is a feature I would like alot because all of my friends that I am close with are my FB friends and I really like having all of my contacts have pictures and their full names.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kayst

    kayst Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    432
    63
    73
    Austin, TX
    I kind of have the opposite question. I would like to use the Facebook app to see status updates and pics and stuff but I do NOT want all of my facebook friends to be added to my contacts. Is this automatic once I enter my facebook account data, or can i turn this off?
     
    Mike_B and Alfdroid like this.
  3. AkoCham

    AkoCham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    haha to each his own I suppose.

    Anyone know the answer to this? Surely someone here has owned a Hero or an Eris at some point and knows the process. Unless it's completely different on Sense 2.1
     
  4. Mike_B

    Mike_B Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    107
    4
    36
    Network Systems Analyst
    +1

    I'd hate no not be able to use the Facebook app. I don't want it messing with my contacts.
     
  5. 762x51

    762x51 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    45
    28
    43
    IT
    Long Island, NY
    +2....don't want the two contact lists integrated.
     
  6. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    It's the exact same on the Eris and Incredible.

    Check the Incredible user guide starting @ pg 75.
     
  7. jprow507

    jprow507 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    268
    13
    38
    So it looks like if we DO NOT want Facebook contacts to sync use Facebook for Android, and IF WE DO want Facebook contacts to sync use Facebook for HTC Sense? Is that correct?
     
  8. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Pretty much. If you configure your phone to sync with FB, it will add those contacts.

    You can use the stand alone FB app just to access it.

    You can manually sync certain contacts to FB to get their status updates, profile pics, etc.
     
    jprow507 likes this.
  9. jprow507

    jprow507 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    268
    13
    38
    I haven't had an Android phone before.... If I let the phone sync ALL my facebook friends (I assume so they can be part of the new friend stream) by using Facebook for HTC Sense, will they then go into my GMAIL contacts as well?

    If so, can I then just go online and create a group called Facebook for people who are friends but I don't typically call or message, re-sync to the Incredible and then not worry about my contacts being crowded with a lot of people.... i.e. would the Incredible recognize the Groups in sort of "folders" so I can ignore the Facebook group on the phone and only view contacts from my normal groups, i.e. friends, family... ?
     
  10. kayst

    kayst Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    432
    63
    73
    Austin, TX
    That's a good idea. I think I may have to rethink the way I think about my contact list. I try to keep the numbers on my phone pared down to only those I use to make it simple to find things. With the way Android does contacts, it won't matter so much to have a bunch of extra people that I never contact in the list, since I won't be scrolling through a big list looking for people, but just typing a few letters like in a normal email on the computer. Talk about a big paradigm shift - I have to keep telling myself "I may be an old dog, but I CAN learn new tricks!"
     
  11. jpr18

    jpr18 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    94
    12
    38
    Student
    IL
    I don't think this is the case-- when my brother got his Eris, he loaded his Gmail contacts, which were JUST the old contacts he had from his old phone: he transfered them from Backup Assistant to Gmail. After he loaded those and asked the phone to sync with Facebook, the phone asked him to "pair" the contacts from gmail to the ones from FB. I.e. "Do you want to link John L. Doe with the John L. Doe we found on FB in your friend list" And you can choose all, or select a few, or none. I believe you could also link people that the phone didn't automatically connect.

    Your question was if the phone can sync your Facebook Phonebook with your phone's....and well I don't know.
     
    jprow507 likes this.
  12. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Yes, your contacts will auto sync with FB ONLY if they match their FB name EXACTLY. There was a thread over on the Eris forums that discussed this.

    What I did was setup FB account in the phone then manually synced the contacts I wanted (since none of the contact names matched). That way you get their profile pic and status updates in your contacts.
     
    jprow507 likes this.
  13. kayst

    kayst Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    432
    63
    73
    Austin, TX
    Let me see if I understand you correctly: you're saying that no new contacts will be added to the phone's contact list from FB (unless you elect to do so manually), just that contacts that match exactly will be updated. That is perfect.

    Hopefully you can replace the FB profile pic in your contacts. Some of my friends use really stupid ones.
     
  14. teedo757

    teedo757 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    This is true in 1.5 however I am having an issue with 2.1 on the hero. It will sync with contact / people correctly however the dialer contains all my facebook contacts which is kinda annoying. I don't know if this issue will be resolved in the official release but since its only 2 days off I feel like this may be a 2.1. issue.
     
  15. ChrisFontenot13

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm on the official release 2.1 on the Hero and this is driving me batty. I like seeing my FB contacts in my "people" list, but there are people from middle school in my dialer now, and no way to get them out unless I un-sync Facebook for HTC Sense entirely. I can always use SyncMyPix but 3rd party apps are an inelegant solution for selectable options that should be in there by default.
     
  16. jaybeth421

    jaybeth421 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Your Facebook friends are not in your contacts or dialer unless you sync their profile with their contact entry. And there is a separate contact list for facebook friends integrated in the stock "people" app. Also even if you do sync a contact with a Facebook profile, you can choose the Facebook pic or your own pic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...