1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sense UI vs Froyo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Private, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. Private

    Private Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    74
    1
    16
    I like Motapa :D
    I like Motapa :D
    I don't have a htc evo yet but i will get it soon. Now thing is i heard froyo is better on htc evo cuz it makes it faster. But if u upgrade 2 froyo u lose htc sense UI. Now my question is losing UI a good thing or a bad thing? Which interface is better Froyo's or Htc Sense UI? If Sense UI is better then when is it comming out on froyo?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    266
    24
    38
    HTC will update Sense for 2.2. We'll have to be patient and wait though.
     
  3. Private

    Private Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    74
    1
    16
    I like Motapa :D
    I like Motapa :D
    what interface is better the UI or Froyo's? Which one is easier and better??
     
  4. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    266
    24
    38
    its all personal preference. The great thing about Evo is you can turn off the Sense UI if you don't like. Turn it back on if you do.
     
  5. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I like Sense a lot, but I have no experience with Froyo to compare it to. I can tell you Sense is much better than all other manufacturer's add on UIs over Android. Makes me wonder how I was so happy with iPhone's lame homescreens.
     
  6. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
    I like Sense way better than stock android froyo. I would miss all my widgets that come with sense. I have not been able to find good replacements for Sense widgets. I do like the new app drawer though. I want froyo with Sense on top of it. Added speed and great looks to match
     
  7. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I don't even think I'd want an Android phone without Sense tbh.
     
  8. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    I'm so pleased with sense that I don't think I'll be rooting nor will I be upgrading to 2.2 with out sense ui.

    Sent using my HTC Evo 4G.
     
  9. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I agree. The only reason I'd root is so I could get free wifi hotspot.
     
  10. Aridon

    Aridon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    224
    45
    43
    Sense is a bloated pig. Some people don't mind it and generally they are the people that have never removed the pig from their device.

    there is no comparison. I'm running froyo now and its several magnitudes faster than stock. Sense adds a lot of bulk for a couple of widgets which mostly can be replaced.

    back in the day sense was all that because stock android was borderline terrible. That is no longer the case
     
  11. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    I enjoy Sense UI, always have. HTC did a great job on it.
     
  12. looneylu

    looneylu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    67
    1
    16
    Student
    Providence, RI
    only reason i haven't used sense as my daily yet is because facebook sync is broken... i know it is nitpicking but I like seeing a caller id picture when I receive a call

    other than that, i have to say it is very very impressive
     
  13. firemedic1343

    firemedic1343 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    50
    10
    18
    I'm rooted EVOlutionV8 rev A Froyo. I don't miss sense at all. I thought I would, because I like that bloated beast. The only thing I really liked was the clock/weather widget on Sense, and you get the same exact thing right now. No regrets. Froyo is better for ME.
     
  14. The Dorian

    The Dorian Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    176
    33
    43
    I absolutely love Sense, and prefer it with Sense.
     
  15. Oridus

    Oridus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    510
    143
    113
    Wisconsin
    Is the camera working on it ?

    __________________
    Sent from my HTC EVO using Tapatalk.
     
  16. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    HTC will update Sense to work with Froyo.

    I have Sense disabled on my EVO and I'm using LauncherPro. I like it much better.
     
  17. redninja

    redninja Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    89
    10
    18

    Does froyo or any 3rd party launchers offer pinch/zoom like sense does?
     
  18. DarkManX4lf

    DarkManX4lf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    116
    9
    36
    Not yet but I'm sure the Rom devs are working on it.
     
  19. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    @redninja: yes pinch to zoom will work
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...