1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SenseUI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by baronzeus, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. baronzeus

    baronzeus Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Why does everyone seem to hate SenseUI? I find it beautiful and very smooth. I wouldn't want to remove it when I root my phone.

    I also get VERY good battery life after my recent battery tweaks.
     

    Advertisement

    mrlanrat likes this.
  2. 0tter

    0tter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    28
    15
    18
    Mostly because Sense UI causes it to take a lot longer to get Android updates.
     
  3. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    i'm keeping sense. it was one of the main reasons i got the phone.
     
  4. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    280
    34
    43
    Me too. I like it. I came from using SPB Mobile Shell 3.5 on my last phone and I loved that UI. Sense reminds me a lot of SPB and I feel right at home using it. I always thought the basic android UI was very boring. :(
     
  5. baronzeus

    baronzeus Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Aren't all post-Froyo updates supposed to be very simple, regardless of what UI you have?
     
  6. cdodge

    cdodge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    358
    14
    38
    same here
     
  7. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    \

    +1 One of the main reasons I upgraded from my Moto Droid.
     
  8. e30kid

    e30kid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Worcester, PA
    I like stock Android better. I liked my setup on the Droid. I'm not a huge fan of the HTC predictive text and I could do without all of the apps that duplicate functionality.
     
  9. Zenze

    Zenze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    210
    10
    38
    I prefer vanilla android but it just comes down to personal preference really.
     
  10. CheezWiz

    CheezWiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    237
    63
    53
    IT Crowd
    Middle TN
    I would ditch sense for SPB Mobile Shell for Android if they would ever release it.. I am coming from WinMo as well... For now, I am keeping sense..
     
  11. zombii matt

    zombii matt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    104
    0
    55
    i like the HTC predictive text since i use the compact qwerty keyboard but i prefer the look of vanilla android
     
  12. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    used to hate sense on winmo but warmed up to it and thats why i got this phone... ill be keeping it
     
  13. jasperwill

    jasperwill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    343
    27
    43
    Male
    Computer Technician
    Oregon
    what changes exactly are in htc sense UI that are not in the stock android os?

    things i know about and like:
    phone bar at bottom of screen, apparently predictive text
     
  14. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    198
    85
    73
    Musician
    Philadelphia
    Lots of apps like peep and friendstream. And the phone dialer is custom, it's not always noticable, but it's pervasive.

    From the Incredible Drooooiiiid.
     
  15. jasperwill

    jasperwill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    343
    27
    43
    Male
    Computer Technician
    Oregon
    just looking through my phone and the internet it looks like i don't use anything from HTC sense that wont be taken care of with Froyo.
    everything that i use is either part of froyo (phone icon on home screens) or i have downloaded it from the app store. so i guess i have nothing to lose rooting to a 2.2 rom once someone makes one.
     
  16. e30kid

    e30kid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Worcester, PA
    I can't stand the auto HTTP thing in the browser. It's completely useless and highly annoying when I want to search for something. That alone is enough for me to want Sense to be off of my phone.
     
  17. jasperwill

    jasperwill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    343
    27
    43
    Male
    Computer Technician
    Oregon
    Thanks for saying that. I didn't know I could use Google search from the address bar in my incredible. I was thinking it didn't matter cuz I would just type go and then tap Google then type my search into the site. I guess I have been doing it the long way.
     
  18. jtcarnes

    jtcarnes Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    89
    9
    16
    In the browser, change your home page to about:blank. When you click in the address window, it auto-highlights and you can just type your search terms in and hit enter.
     
    jasperwill likes this.
  19. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    145
    13
    38
    i dont hate sense or stock. but i will install which ever release first.
     
  20. xvenom89

    xvenom89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    90
    2
    16
    RN

    Same, exactly. Also, the hardware was a big plus.
     
  21. jasperwill

    jasperwill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    343
    27
    43
    Male
    Computer Technician
    Oregon
    i havent used stock except in the store on the moto DROID but it seems unfinished and sense UI seems to be a good way to draw a larger customer base into the android OS. its just prettier. maybe 2.2 will make the OS pretty enough to be more interesting to the general public.

    once a 2.2 stock rom is created for my DINC i will definitly be trying it out. but only if it comes out before the 2.2 sense UI. i just dont have a use for root right now and havent seen any benifits to changing between sense and stock 2.2 (either direction)

    its funny: i tried out the droid in the store and hated the OS because there was too much customization and just looked thrown together.
    as soon as i got my phone and was able to put everything where i wanted and see the icons in my own patterns instead of just filling the entire home screen with icons i can definitly see myself using stock 2.2 with no issues.
    im sure this was because in the store everyone that walked in was moving stuff around and it was just a mess.
     
  22. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    I'll bite, What's the "auto HTTP thing":thinking:
     
  23. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    when u open the internet browser it already gives http before u type in a address... so if u want to search then u have to delete that first
     
  24. jasperwill

    jasperwill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    343
    27
    43
    Male
    Computer Technician
    Oregon
    although jtcarnes gave a workaround up above, that only works if you don't already have other windows open. i would like to be able to just start typing into the address bar of an already being used tab for searches.
     
  25. ponchera

    ponchera Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    92
    3
    16
    I screwed up HTC Sense, actually, all launchers are crashing on me after rooting, not sure what I may have installed that's causing this, did too many things at once (and can't recall what).
    SOOo before reloading the stock ROM, anyway I can backup/restore my Sense homescreen layout?
     

Share This Page

Loading...