1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Serious root problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigtex19, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. bigtex19

    bigtex19 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    314
    5
    36
    Sales Consultant
    Northeast Texas
    so i went to flash the prerooted gb rom that i got and of course i wiped all my data and cache when i went to do it. tried to flash and it says error is sd card. try it again and the same thing. then i tried to flash my cwm backup and it says no file found. i just made the back up like yesterday. so i am stuck at the recovery screen with nothing to flash to have an operational phone. all help appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    just reboot the phone you should be coming from a different rom, you will just boot back into the same rom...


    check your sd card, it may be the culprit as they do tend to go bad every now and then
     
  3. bigtex19

    bigtex19 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    314
    5
    36
    Sales Consultant
    Northeast Texas
    boot loop. what do i hold down to boot into recovery?
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    home+power, once its powered on, release power and continue holding home, then vol up and down, then wipe data and cache, then reboot :)
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Bootloop = much more than 5 minutes of booting. :D

    It takes longer to boot after wiping caches so make sure you're waiting long enough.

    FWIW, one time I was in a boot loop that finally did boot after about 40 minutes.
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    ^^ i would never... ever... wait that long for a phone to boot up
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Depends if you have a computer available or not... :D
     
  8. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    that was some risky endeavour if i ever heard of one. flashing without a computer nearby? i have some big balls, but not that big
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Nope, spontaneous bootloop, like, "gee my phone is warm... look, it's boot-looping". :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...