1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Service problems?

Discussion in 'Boost Mobile' started by Shawn81, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. Shawn81

    Shawn81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016

    Jun 15, 2016
    7
    3
    6
    Male
    I have a few issues, and I'm not sure what the cause is. I assume it's a signal problem or something with Boost, but I can't be sure. Maybe someone has some tips.

    1. I'll frequently get an alert and check the phone. I just got a new voicemail. The phone never rang, and sometimes there's no log of the call at all. But I'll get the voicemail without ever having got the call.

    2. Texts will get lost in purgatory or something, and then get dislodged. I was texting with someone and they stopped responding. Then, almost three hours later, I get four texts from them all at once. I compared with their phone today. They were periodically sending them for almost three hours, but I never got them, and then got them all at once, all timestamped 10:47pm on my phone, even though their timestamps say 8:15pm, 8:47pm, etc.

    The phone is an LG Stylo on Boost. I've had the same issue with multiple phones in the past, and on various phones with T-Moble before I switched to Boost. Not sure what the issue is.
    Any tips? Thanks.

    EDIT: It's acting up again. They just texted me now, I texted back. Didn't get a response, so I texted again. They never got my response, but are getting the texts now.
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Shawn81, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  2. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Have you tired a different texting app like hangouts or Textra?
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,796
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,796
    35,061
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Does this always happen from the same location? I have a horrible signal at work and often drop off the network forcing calls directly into voicemail and delaying texts. Some of the carriers offer devices that connect to your home network and act as mini cell towers so you can get a decent signal.
     
    Jimini likes this.
  4. Shawn81

    Shawn81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016

    Jun 15, 2016
    7
    3
    6
    Male
    I've never tried a different texting app.
    It does seem to happen at home a lot. But it still happens around town, too. And I went up to the larger metro area last week where I used to live and had the straight to voicemail thing happen again up there anyway. I'm not sure what to do.
    I wonder if Boost has that signal boost thing on my network.
     
  5. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Have you tried updating your profile?
    Settings-updates-update profile
     
    blaqueknight likes this.
  6. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    May as well try to update your prl as well :)
     
    blaqueknight likes this.
  7. Shawn81

    Shawn81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016

    Jun 15, 2016
    7
    3
    6
    Male
    I updated the profile and PRL. I don't know what that does, but did it anyway, and it did so successfully.
    I downloaded Google Messenger. It works. Not sure what the differences are.
    I looked around the Boost site and didn't find any info on boosting your signal from your home network.
     
  8. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Since Boost mobile is prepaid they won't give you a signal booster.

    PRL- is your Preferred Roaming List. That is the list of towers in your area that your phone is allowed to connect to (or preferably connect to)

    Updating your Profile just refreshes your signal basically. If you have trouble getting a signal or have a weak signal you can do it to try and refresh.
     
    blaqueknight likes this.
  9. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,431
    672
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    I have Boost and this happens to me sometimes as well. I blame Boost and Sprint for their crappy network. I don't think there is anything wrong with my phone.
     
  10. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    It really depends on where you live/use your device at.
    The 5 years I was on boost I found the network to be more than adequate and I live in the woods.
     
    blaqueknight likes this.
  11. Shawn81

    Shawn81 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016

    Jun 15, 2016
    7
    3
    6
    Male
    I'm almost positive I had the same issues on T-Mobile. I guess it's the area and there's nothing I can do about it. The missing calls is a killer. A lot of time I have to call a place where they don't answer the phones, you have to leave a message and they'll call back, and then I don't get the call, just the voicemail, and have to start over.
     
    Slayer72 and MLSS like this.
  12. carter88

    carter88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016

    Jun 19, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi! I'm using FreedomPop, but the moment I enter the home, it says "no service". Can anyone care to tell me how to make my cell phone work inside my home?
     
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,796
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,796
    35,061
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Some of the carriers will provide range extenders that plug into your home network, but I doubt if FreedomPop is one of them :(
     
  14. Jimini

    Jimini Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017

    Jan 1, 2017
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    I think you can purchase one from them for a few bucks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...