1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Service

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GrenadeMan, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. GrenadeMan

    GrenadeMan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Before I had this phone, I had a phone called the LG motion. I have metro p_c_s and I have their unlimited 4 g l t e data plan. With the LG motion, I had 4G everywhere I went. I live in Lansing Michigan, to help you guys out. With the phone I have now, the Kyocera hydro xtrm, I get a range from G,2G,3G,4G and 4G LTE. Which isn't necessarily a problem, but at the same time, it is. At my workplace my lg motion got 4G everywhere I went. But with my kyocera hydro xtrm, I get 2g only and not 4G. I have tried messing with the settings and numerous times, I've call MetroPCS numerous times about it and they've done a maintenance ticket and said that they fix the problem but I still only get 2g there. Can anyone help me out with this issue? The phone is not rooted and it's about 3 weeks old.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Sounds like one of two things. Either the Kyocera just doesn't have the receive sensitivity on the 3G/4G frequencies (which there's nothing you can do about it - that's how it was made), or it's got a problem with its receiver, in which case they should replace it. (Unless it has an antenna contact issue - that can be fixed in 10 minutes by a competent tech who knows the phone.)
     
  3. exile1975

    exile1975 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    213
    47
    43
    Cupertino, CA
    You should also try to update your prl. Try dialing *228 and update your roaming list. I think it might be option 5.
     
  4. shagpal

    shagpal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    The LG Motion is CDMA, using the old MetroPCS cdma network.

    The MetroPCS Hydro XTRM is a GSM phone, and uses T-Mobile GSM/LTE network.
     
  5. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,759
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,759
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    Exile1974, shagpal is correct in that the Kyocera phone is a GSM phone while the moron is a CDMA phone. Both phones get LTE, but the moron got the old Metro LTE and the Kyocera gets the T-Mobile LTE. A lot of places are being combined, so you'll have to see if that's happened where you live.

    Oh, updating the PRL, that'll only work on CDMA phones.
     

Share This Page

Loading...