1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root set cpu help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by frankie51, May 31, 2011.

  1. frankie51

    frankie51 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I have the B.O.S. Kingdom Port R3 rom and I want to install setcpu to increase battery life. I do not want to over clock, just underclock. How do i do this? Do i need to install a custom kernal?
     

    Advertisement

  2. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    If you just want to underclock, no you do not have to flash a custom kernel. You'll have to disable perflock before you can undercloc a stock kernel, and you can do this through SetCPU.
     
  3. frankie51

    frankie51 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    what settings should i turn the phone to when the screen is off if i want to underclock? and also will this make me recieve text messages late?
     
  4. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    You can set a "screen-off" profile to min: 245 max: 245 and no, you won't receive texts late.
     
  5. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Well lol you might get texts late but it won't be related to clocking your kernel :)

    You may experience difficulty under clocking on that beastly giant Rom lol. Just saying...
     
  6. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    LoL...true
     
  7. frankie51

    frankie51 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    is there a better android 2.3 w/ new sense rom avaible?
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I would recommend NOT using SetCPU for this rom;) Sac's has Collin's battery tweak set up for this rom. You can set up the tweak via Terminal Emulator.

    Go into TM
    Type
    su

    Then type
    batt-cfg

    Press
    5 enter

    Then
    9 enter
    to save changes

    Then reboot the phone
     
  9. frankie51

    frankie51 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    what does this do?
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    andygu3 likes this.
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...