1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General set default obb folder

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yuriman1, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. yuriman1

    yuriman1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013

    Sep 17, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Hi guys,
    i wonder how to set the default obb folder. i want it on my SD card instead of the internal memory. I am using a Galaxy S4 with Android 4.2.2. using the "move to SD card" option doesnt transfer the obb files to the SD. Just the Game files from the .apk

    Any ideas would be appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,678
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,678
    4,837
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums. I moved your question to the area where your phone is discussed.

    ... Thom
     
  3. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Not sure what you're asking, but nothing moves entirely to the SD card. Only a portion of the data gets moved while some part must stay on internal memory. That cannot be helped.
     
  4. yuriman1

    yuriman1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013

    Sep 17, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    with asphalt 8 for example, there is a huuuuge 1,5 gb .obb file which i dont want on my internal memory. it's located @ android/obb/com.gameloft.android.ANMP.GloftA8HM

    creating a obb folder in the android folder on my SD card wont work. the game then doesnt start. if i get a working obb folder on my SD card which is accepted by the games, that would be nice
     
  5. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Yeah you can't move that on your own. If it doesn't move with the "Move to SD" button under App Info, the developer didn't make it with permission move. You'll have to send an email to the dev asking them to put that ability in an update.
     
  6. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    This isn't default functionality but, using the FolderMount app, you can do this as long as you are rooted.

    I have done exactly this and it works fine.
     
  7. yuriman1

    yuriman1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013

    Sep 17, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Thank you guys :)

    I will do some research about rooting. I am new to all of that :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...