1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SetCPU and Perflock Disabler

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by toasty, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. toasty

    toasty Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    290
    25
    63
    I'm a bit confused about the perflock disabler in SetCPU. I'm running a rooted EVO 4G with stock ROM and kernel. I know that perflock needs to be disabled for SetCPU to be able to do its thing, but I'm confused about whether it needs to be done every time I boot up my phone, or whether doing it the once is sufficient. Anyone have any wisdom on this?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    You probably only need to do it once, but if you want to make sure just turn the notification on and see if it ever goes over 998 after a reboot. Also you may want to try a new kernel such as maybe netarchy they give great battery life and performance and they come with the perflock disabled :)
     
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    with the stock kernel you can only underclock. you cannot overclock it unless you flash a custom kernel. and you also can have it to set on boot i believe when you disable perflock.
     
  4. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Just make sure that once you've disabled perflock, you check "set on boot" to keep your settings that way.
     
  5. toasty

    toasty Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    290
    25
    63
    This is how I've got it set up, sounds like I'm good.

    As an aside, in case it matters, I'm only using it to underclock, not overclock.
     
  6. Cares

    Cares Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    315
    38
    63
    I'm trying to research to find the answer but I cannot.

    Do I need to disable perflock with Cyanogen 6.1.2 (AOSP)?
     
  7. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    No. You only need to disable perflock w/ HTC (stock) kernels.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...