1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SetCPU Frequency List

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yeags, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. yeags

    yeags Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I have a rooted mytouch 3g with CM6RC2. I installed SetCPU and autodetected frequencies. The max it will run at is 576Mhz. I created a setcpu.txt file with the same frequencies it autodetected, but also added a few more with higher frequencies, however setcpu won't run past 576Mhz. Is this the highest I can go or do I need to input specific frequencies in the setcpu.txt file?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Curious about this too. Btw, how much faster/better does your phone run now that you've rooted? Are you feeling like it might not be necessary to upgrade to a mt3g slide or galaxy s?
     
  3. yeags

    yeags Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I've noticed CM6RC2 does run a bit sluggish on the mytouch 3g. I haven't tried any other roms, but I'm sure there are some out there that run great. Right now though, other than a few bugs and force closes I'm pretty satisfied with the mt3g. Rooting your phone is worth it just for the tethering and multitouch capabilities.
    Now if only I could overclock my phone past 576 Mhz I'll be all set. It may just be the kernel I'm running won't support it, I'm not sure.
     
  4. ColoradoIcculus

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Or your CPU... ;)
     
  5. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    So at 1.6, it wouldn't let me go beyond 528, but now at 2.1 it allows me to go up to 576. Is it reliable at that speed?
     
  6. yeags

    yeags Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    It's been pretty stable at 576 Mhz. I kept an eye on the battery temp for awhile and it doesn't seem to affect it much at all.
     
  7. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Thanks for the feedback. At what temp would you say it becomes dangerous for the phone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...