1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SetCPU on Rooted 2.1 ROM..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DatacomGuy, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Anyone foresee any issues on OC'ing on the standard rooted ESE81?

    Does the kernel support overclocking?
     

    Advertisement

  2. alamoe

    alamoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    292
    21
    58
    if it doesn't there are OC/UV kernels you can flash just like you flash ROM's
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Just ran auto-detect and it's detected max as 550mhz and min as 250mhz..

    Not quite what i was expecting/hoping for.

    When flashing kernels, does one lose everything again and start from scratch, like with ROMS?
     
  4. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    On a stock ROM with the stock kernel, thats about as good as it gets.
     
  5. irishpride

    irishpride Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    561
    76
    98
    Emerald City

    You won't lose anything when you flash a kernel. Just download the kernel you want and rename it to update.zip(when you rename it just put "update", your comp will add the rest), then put it on the root of your SD card. Go into SPRecovery, select Install, hit allow update.zip installation and then run it. Once you restart go to the Market and buy SetCPU, and start Overclocking!
     
  6. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    You need to read up a bit before you tank the phone ;)

    The OS supports overclocking via a flashed kernel. You need a root and need to make sure the the kernel you are flashing are compatible with 2.1, this is important.
    SetCPU will read 550 max because the stock 2.1 only has the stock 550 kernel in it. 250 is the minimum and 550 max.
    When you flash a higher kernel you can set values for given processor conditions. The lower the speed the better the battery.
    Read a bit more and then try out a kernel. The more you read, the more you will realize that you won't stop at just a kernel.
    :D
     
  7. carlz28

    carlz28 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    119
    24
    38
    Chemical Eng. Medical Device Manuf.
    Catasauqua, PA
    You can try downloading some different Kernels:
    AdamZ-LV-kernel-update.zip
    ^^^ Direct link/download to one of Adamz's kernels

    Or....
    UPDATE-New-Kernels-Low-Voltage-Medium-Voltage-3-25-2010
    ^^^ Link to download several various voltage kernels from Chevy.

    The above mentioned kernels are for Android 2.1 (ESE53)
    but should work with the stock 2.1 rooted version of the latest OTA release (ESE81)
    I should say they WILL work as I have tried them all on various ROMs AND with the stock 2.1 rooted version from Pete.
    It just all depends on what works best for your phone. Some people like having more slots to set the frequency. Some have more/less success with heat issues and FC's.
    And remember, as mentioned in previous posts, you'll have to remane the file to update.zip
    And make sure you only rename the filename part, not the file extension or you'll end up with something like update.zip.zip which obviously won't work when flashing.
    So give it a whirl. Make sure you do a nandroid backup before anything though. Just in case something goes wrong, you can always revert back to the stable, stock 2.1
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Thank you guys.. I'll keep reading, fantastic help. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...