1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root setCPU overclocking boot loop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by novox77, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I decided to test overclocking with a new HAVS kernel. Put the slider to 1.26mhz and my phone froze up. Had to pull the battery to get it to reboot. But once it booted up, it'd freeze again. There may be a better way to recover from this, but here's how I solved it.

    1) boot into recovery

    2) adb shell
    mount /data
    cd /data/data
    rm -r com.mhuang.overclock
    exit

    3) reboot phone

    Basically what this does is removes the setCPU settings, so the phone isn't trying to overclock every time it finishes booting.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cabbie

    cabbie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,344
    553
    213
    you can prevent this by not selecting 'set on start'

    1.26 rebooted my phone nearly instantly
    1.22 made usage of the phone suck with random reboots
    1.19 seemed to be the sweet spot
     
    MusicJunkie and novox77 like this.
  3. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    of course, that checkbox "set on boot" or whatever. well, since you did the homework, I'll just set mine at 1.1 and be done with it :)
     
  4. v01rider

    v01rider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    985
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

  5. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
  6. v01rider

    v01rider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    985
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    word, thats what im usin! :cool:
     
  7. One Beast

    One Beast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    557
    75
    78
    Netarchy's New Kernel and Overclocking arent doing so well for some/most........-__-


    I've joined the darkside and i think im going to stay
     
  8. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    I had a similar thing happen to me with kingxkernel #7 and BFS #1 at 1.19 Ghz. Did a nand restore and 1.11 seems to be working well.
     
  9. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I've noticed another glitch introduced when I flashed 4.1.x netarchy kernel. If I try to switch input methods (keyboards), my touchscreen locks up. I have to standby the screen and turn it back on to recover.
     
  10. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    My only issue is when try to OC @1.26 but I do really good @ 1.22 when must can't even get to 1.19.
     
  11. lite blue

    lite blue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    158
    9
    36
    Is there much noticeable speed increase at 1.19? Worth effort?
     
  12. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    233
    13
    38
    Mine wouldn't work aT ANYTHING ABOVE 1.13 but yes it feels faster. 10% is a lot in anything.
     
  13. blackbolo

    blackbolo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Self Employed
    Brick city
    I thank you for the post but could you please re post speaking newbie language
     
  14. blackbolo

    blackbolo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Self Employed
    Brick city
    please explain in the beginners terms I apologize
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Welcome to the forums!!!!!!!
    Are you having bootloop issues?

    The more info you can provide us the better we can help you.
     
    MusicJunkie and Mikestony like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...