1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SetCPU Profiles

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MadSkillz, Jun 20, 2011.

1. MadSkillz

MadSkillz Newbie
    None

Jun 4, 2011
    I want to save battery power WITH great performance. So how would I go about setting up my profile? I'm new to this and it seems very frustrating.

Thanks in advanced.

Advertisement

2. teh_dude

teh_dude Android Enthusiast
    None

Jun 13, 2011
    Full time student at UT Arlington, in middle of BS
    Arlington/Denton, TX
    I encourage others to pitch in to concur or correct what I'm saying, but I can offer what I do. When you go into profiles and try to create one, you'll see that one of the first options will be the type of profile you're looking to create. It's a dropdown list to choose from with things like Charging, Charging AC, Charging USB, Screen off, Temp, etc. So you think about what you want to happen: When you're using the phone, you want higher speeds to kick in so you can get good performance, but when you're not using the phone and it's just in your pocket or wherever, you don't need those high CPU speeds, and frankly don't want them high if there's nothing you're using them for. It's also worth considering setting a profile to slow the CPU down if the phone gets too hot.

In any profile, there's the type, max speed, min speed, scaling, and priority. For types of Temp, Battery and Time, there's settings for those items within the profile as well.

Most of those categories should be self explanatory. Scaling has to do with how SetCPU will control the CPU speed within the range that you set. SetCPU for Root Users will explain what each of them mean (that website will also explain the app very thoroughly beyond what I'm saying here). Priority is percentage based. Profiles with a higher percentage priority will of course take precedence over profiles with a lower percentage priority. Here's the profiles I have set up: