1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Setcpu with cm7 latest version

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Needforspeed, May 30, 2011.

  1. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    21
    38
    Should I use setCPU with cm 7
     

    Advertisement

  2. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    You don't necessarily have to when running a HAVs kernel since you can govern your cpu from Cyanogenmod settings. If you choose to use SetCPU, that's okay too. I'm sure it doesn't conflict w/ the Cyanogenmod settings because every time I adjust the cpu w/ SetCPU, it reflects the changes in the Cyanogenmod settings. I just use SetCPU for the screen off profile at this point.
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Cm7 has a built in 'setcpu', I would recommend using that instead;)
     
  4. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    CM7 has built in speed and scaling changer but I use setcpu for profiles. Just make sure not to use profiles with the SA governor.
     
  5. Needforspeed

    Needforspeed Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    233
    21
    38

    Y
     
  6. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Because the smartass governor in conjunction w/ a havs kernel will automatically scale your cpu way down when the screen is off anyway. I always used a screen off profile while using the smartass governor in the past w/o issue. IMO, either or you should be okay.
     
  7. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    I always heard that it would mess things up but I guess Frenchy is proof that it won't lol.
     
  8. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Some people have trouble waking the phone with sa and a screen off profile. Akaza had this issues know. I never tried...
     
  9. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI

    I've heard of this as well but that can be remedied by raising the min. to 384. Everyone's Evo acts differently, so experiences will differ.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...