1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SetCpu

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by theebrownieee, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. theebrownieee

    theebrownieee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Okay so i just rooted my new Evo and installed SetCPU,

    i set up some profiles for when my battery reachs like <25 and i was testing this out at like <75 and noticed that even though the notification shows up as the profile is active, in systempanel app and also even in SetCPU is still shows the cpu reaching core speed of 998 instead of the speed it should be capped at...

    so my question is, is setcpu actually working?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Drazil

    Drazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    none of the overclocking apps will work unless you have a kernel that supports it.
     
  3. theebrownieee

    theebrownieee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    i have it rooted through toasts method and than i applied fresh rom...
     
  4. Drazil

    Drazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    Are you sure the kernel you installed supports the frequency you're trying to use? the auto-detect sometimes isn't that accurate. maybe try some other frequencies. I use linpack, quick system info pro and cpu benchmark to check the cpu speed after I set it with setcpu and they all agree with each other. There's also a script that comes with gscript light that does a cpu check but it doesn't look as nice.

    Edit: I don't know how it is with custom EVO ROMs, but with Hero ROMs not all of them have a kernel that supports o/c. Just sayin, don't assume it supports o/c just cause it's a custom ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...