1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Setting Dial Pad as Default

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bbaird, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. bbaird

    bbaird Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Here's something that's been bugging me: Is there a way to configure the dialer app so that when you open it the screen always defaults to the dial pad?

    I understand it requires only one additional tap after opening the phone/dialer app to switch to the dial pad, but this is an annoying extra step. As it's currently designed, the phone/dialer app always defaults to the last screen you were on, so if you had been viewing contacts, that's the screen that shows when you open the app next time.

    I understand the difference (finally, after some digging) between the contacts list you get from the tab in the phone/dialer app--which shows just contacts with phone numbers--and the contacts list you get when opening the contacts app. Still, it seems like such a small thing to have the option of setting the phone/dialer app to ALWAYS display the dial pad initially when you open it, and the contacts app likewise to always display the contacts list when you open it? Am I missing something here?

    btw, this is in reference to the Droid X, and I am using the latest Adroid version 2.3.3 along with the latest System version 4.5.596.MB810.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Have you tried creating a shortcut to the dialer?
     
  3. B360155

    B360155 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    249
    57
    53
    North Richland Hills, TX
    Unfortunately, I think that was something that changed with the Gingerbread 2.3.3 update. If you install and use GO Contacts and GO Dialer, they open to your contacts list and to your dialer respectively, like the stock apps USED to.
     
  4. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    But why not use the shortcut? One long press fixes the problem, so a user can open to the dialpad every time on the first "click".
     
    bolski likes this.
  5. B360155

    B360155 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    249
    57
    53
    North Richland Hills, TX
    Agree, that works. I use quite a few of the GO apps and already had GO Contacts and Dialer installed so just offered that as an alternative.
     
  6. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Fair enough. I was operating under the assumption that the OP wouldn't want to go third party, but I'd imagine your solution would work just as well
     

Share This Page

Loading...