1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Setting memory to save to SDCARD as Primary not the Internal Mem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ære, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. Ære

    Ære Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    333
    251
    88
    Is there away you can set the Esteem to save app files, cache, downloads, etc to the SD card by default, not the internal memory?

    Please help if anyone knows how to change this.

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. LatinHeat

    LatinHeat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    22
    4
    16
    Architect
    Miami, FL
  3. nailzer

    nailzer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    474
    74
    73
    Machinist
    Central Florida
    If you download an app from the market you can force it to move to the SD card if it doesn't let you from menu>manage apps>downloaded>app name>move to sd card. Titanium Backup, both free and pro, will force move the app to the SD card. Under Backup/Restore pick the app you want to move. Hold your finger on the app and a menu comes up. Move the app from it. This isn't allowed with every app. I haven't had a problem with any move yet.
     
  4. Aplus

    Aplus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    653
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    653
    255
    113
    Bay Area
    [quote="
     
  5. geetech84

    geetech84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    57
    5
    16
    i kno some apps can not be move to the sd card
     
  6. Aplus

    Aplus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    653
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    653
    255
    113
    Bay Area
    I know, but, I'm not just talking about apps. The apps that can be moved to sd go to the internal sd and not my sd card. I also want to find a way to move the data and cache to the external card like the op asked.
     
  7. fylpee

    fylpee Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    55
    4
    16
    305
    I use app2sd to automatically have apps moved over
     
  8. nailzer

    nailzer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    474
    74
    73
    Machinist
    Central Florida
    From reading about the app2sd it seems it only moves a portion to the SD card. From the market page,

    "This app is not used to backup apps to SD card. It only helps you to move a portion of apps used space to SD card."
     
  9. nuked

    nuked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    179
    35
    43
    Did a quick test with the game called Diversion.

    On the phone it shows:
    Total: 17.40MB
    Application: 17.37MB
    Data: 32.00KB
    Cache: 96.00KB

    Went to manage apps and selected "move to SD card", and now

    On (internal) SD:
    Total: 228KB
    Application: 192KB
    Data: 36.00KB
    Cache: 96.00KB

    Went to ES File Explorer to go find it on /sdcard/ but couldnt locate it. I finally found it in /mnt/asec/ along with all my other apps I had moved.
     
  10. Destinbury

    Destinbury Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011

    Apr 3, 2011
    33
    4
    16
    Atlanta, Georgia
    would the optimus m A2SD script work?or would that not work what with the internal SDcard in the esteem?:thinking:
     
  11. abescalamis

    abescalamis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    24
    10
    18
    app2SD Doesn't work. well the problem with this phone is that the primary SD card listed is the internal, That is Why it always will going to move everything to the internal SD.

    I will let you know if I find the solution
     
  12. Captboob

    Captboob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    12
    0
    35

    000
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...