1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Setting up destop computer for Wireless Tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by teleburst, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. teleburst

    teleburst Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    I know that this is sort of stupid thing not to know, but how do you actually set up the link between the Eris and the desktop when using Wireless Tether? I went through the Wireless network Setup and I even went through Network Setup Wizard and Network Connections and still haven't been able to figure out how to actually initiate wireless tetherthing through wi-fi. I'm sure that it's something bonehead that I haven't considered.

    The only time I've set up networks is with the help of ISP tech support or the ISP setup CD.

    I went to the FAQ at the company that does Wireless Tether but couldn't find anything helpful.

    I'm using XP.
     

    Advertisement

  2. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    Forgive me if I'm asking a silly question, but does your desktop have a wifi adapter? I'm a laptop user, but I thought most desktop computers (except iMacs) are sold without wifi.
     
  3. teleburst

    teleburst Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    Not silly at all. And probably my problem.

    Told you it was probably a bonehead thing.
     
  4. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    Hehe, its all good... I guess you'll have to do wired tether.
     
  5. teleburst

    teleburst Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    Don't know why I would assume that I was already set up for wi-fi. I'm not a laptop sort of guy.

    I'll probably go to a wi-fi adapter of some sort. Unless there's some serious drawback to doing wireless.

    I wonder if I could use my ATT DSL router, which has wi-fi, as the gateway to my Eris.
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Once you set your Eris up for wireless thethering, you sort of manage it like a router. (i.e. broadcasting your SSID, encryption key, etc). There are USB wireless dongles (not entirely certain how I feel about that word yet) that are available for desktops if you don't wish to have a wired tether. The only drawback that could be a possibility is speed perhaps?
     
  7. italygrl1

    italygrl1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    83
    3
    16
    Female
    College Student
    New York,US
    I got it working on mine wirelessly since i have a laptop but i would like to do it on my husband's desktop and wondering how to set it up wired?? Any help? Thanks.
     
  8. lovewithyou880

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5

Share This Page

Loading...