1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

settings

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by karenmarie, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. karenmarie

    karenmarie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Female
    When i look at my apps individually some of them say force stop what should i do. Some of them i dont know if it will hurt the spp and also there is a ehole lot of them
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    In my experience, multiple force close events across several apps usually requires a factory reset.
     
  3. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    You mean the "Force Stop" option under Settings/Manage Apps?

    I recommend not using that unless the app is REALLY misbehaving. Apps hate being Force Stopped via the Settings menu. Just let them run, they usually won't consume battery or RAM to a noticeable point.
     
  4. ralphsteven

    ralphsteven Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    30
    2
    16
    If you phone is rooted you can "freeze" apps. For mid-level devices is recommended a careful management of applications. Try to run only the applications you need, in this way your phone will be much faster
     
  5. !on

    !on Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    824
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    824
    120
    93
    Male
    UK
    Force Stop in manage apps is only OK on apps you installed yourself, that you want to stop! It's not advisable to stop the built in system apps, the phone needs them to work.

    Saying that though, say if you install something like, a different sound EQ app, you can stop the built in one. You can re-enable it after.
     
  6. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,055
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,055
    1,018
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    I'm confused about what the original question is...
     

Share This Page

Loading...