1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Setup Help - Droid to Inc2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by maryhitt, Jun 24, 2011.

1. maryhitt

maryhitt Lurker
    None

Jun 24, 2011
    Attorney
    Pittsburgh, PA suburb
    I have been using the original Verizon Motorola Droid since November 2009, when it first came out. I recently bought the Incredible 2, have charged it but have not yet activiated it. On the Droid, I have been using Gmail for my mail, calendar etc. The first thing I noticed in the setup instructions was to backup my Contacts using Backup Assistant. However, Backup Assistant is not available for the Motorola Droid. Since I already have my contacts saved in my Gmail account, is this step necessary?

How do I transfer the data and apps from my Droid to my Incredible? I assume that anything I purchased on the Android Market can be downloaded again, but what about the data that goes with those apps. Some of the apps I use have the ability to backup online, but not all apps have this.

I have an app called MyBackup Pro on the Droid, and it allows me to backup online, to the SD card, or to both. If I backup the data to the SD card, can i just transfer this SD card to the Incredible and recover the data there (once I have re-installed the apps)?

Any other startup suggestions? Anything I should watch out for? Any apps that you highly recommend?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Advertisement

2. tachnician199

tachnician199 Newbie
    None

Nov 13, 2009
    Chicago
    I can help with a few of those questions. All your Gmail contacts will sync when you sign in on the Dinc II. All of your paid apps from the Market will show up. I had to find the free ones again.
    Wish I would have looked into transferring my game saves. Guess I'll just replay Angry Birds!

3. AMTrombley0924

AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    None

Jun 2, 2010
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California