1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Several GS5 problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jtinker6171, Oct 11, 2014.

1. jtinker6171

jtinker6171 Lurker

Hi

Over the past couple weeks, my phone has started having several problems. The first and foremost is that the battery is draining much quicker than usual and the device heats up quickly even in my pocket when I haven't been using it. I've tried making sure extra processes were stopped and wifi was off but it still performed badly. And I'm doing nothing differently than I did when I had no problems. Additionally, several apps crash instantly, like Google Drive and Twitter, while others are fine. Alsox sometimes the screen won't turn on even though the buttons light up when I try to wake up the device. I have tried a factory reset and it seemed like it was fine at first, but now it's having the same problems. I think this is a hardware problem, specifically battery. But I'm no expert, so does anyone have experience with this kind of problem and how to fix it?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. AZgl1500

AZgl1500 Extreme Android User

Without holding your phone in our hands, it is difficult to diagnose these type of problems.

I will say though, that there seems to be a lot of similar posts of folks experiencing the problem after the 4.4.4 update was released.

I'm on VZW and did not want any updates ever, but Verizon forced them on the phone w/o my permission. I did not know about the file(s) to delete to keep that from happening until it was too late to stop the updates.

That said, while 4.4.4 changed a lot of my features back to 'null defaults' which pissed me off, ie, eliminated my voice mail box with all the messages I was holding in it. Reset a lot of settings on the phone to their defaults....