1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Several questions from a smartphone newbie

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Gazpach, Jan 12, 2013.

1. Gazpach

Gazpach Lurker
    None

Jan 12, 2013
    Hello Everybody,

I am a smartphone newbie. I was using an 8 year old LG vx3200 until about June of this year when I decided to join the real world and get a smartphone. I went with the Samsung galaxy ace because it was cheaper and I wasn't quite sure what I would need.

I have a few questions, and please bear with me as I am a newbie and don't really anything at all about these kinds of phones. I have managed to root it, I've done a few backups as well.

I saw this template and will fill it in to the best of my ability. I am on Telus Mobility's pay as you go system, so I pay for all data and calls.

Main:
    Phone name: samsung galaxy ace
    Phone model number: gt-s5830d
    Android Version: 2.3.4
    Status (rooted/not rooted): rooted
    Firmware/ROM version: no idea what this is?
    Type of problem (software/hardware): bit of both?

My first question is: My phone does not have voice dialing capabilities. I downloaded "Utter" and was really happy with it. It worked with my bluetooth device for my car. Only problem is that it requires an active internet connection.

Is there an app or something that will allow me to have voice dialing that will work with my bluetooth machine and not require an active internet connection? I'm on a pay as you go system so the data would cost me a fortune if I left it on all the time just in the off chance I make a voice call. The Bluetooth thing I have is a Jabra Cruiser2.

My second question is: