1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Sharing apps by QR Code?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by KlaymenDK, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    Fred meets Bob at the pub and shows off the latest app he's installed.
    Bob likes it and wants to have it on his phone, too.

    Q: What's the best way for Fred to help Bob install an application? :thinking:

    Hint: On a Palm, Fred would just 'beam' the app to Bob's pda (we're assuming that it's a freely downloadable app, not requiring payment or registration).

    On an Android phone, can Fred somehow share it over Bluetooth, or display a QR Code for the app so that Bob can use his Barcode Scanner to get it from the Market (or slimeme.org, or wherever)?

    As far as I know, no file manager has a "display barcode" function (like Contacts does when you have Barcode Scanner installed), so I'm forced to describe the app, or go into the application list and dig out its "com.vendor.app" name. This seems decidedly un-slick.
     

    Advertisement

  2. muzz3256

    muzz3256 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    1
    36
    Virginia
    I just checked on the barcode scanner and it had the option to send an application as a QR Code. I recently updated the Barcode Scanner software and it was working fine. May want to update the software if you haven't already.
     
  3. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    That is really cool. You can also use barcode scanner to share bookmarks, contacts and clipborad contact.
     
  4. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    :D[​IMG] Hey neat, that's exactly what I was looking for! It's just that, very often I have the hardest time getting Barcode Scanner to show its menu (while it's trying to scan).

    ...well almost. This only works assuming that the app is still listed in the Market and is shown to the other party (Bob, in this case). Yesteryear, you could transfer the actual app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...