1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

shell command file extentions

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Trogue, Sep 17, 2011.

1. Trogue

Trogue Lurker
    None

Sep 17, 2011
    Under your bed
    Hello i am new to android and this forum.i was wondering what is the file extention for running commands shells. eg .bat (windows) Is there a extention for it at all or do i have to enter them individualy in terminal editor.

Advertisement

2. El Presidente

El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    None

Jan 3, 2011
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF! :)

I'm sure you could do something via ADB if you had the Android SDK installed. Not my forte though but I'll see if any of the other guides can assist.

3. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42

Dec 1, 2009
    UK
    I believe gscript can run them in the form of .sh files, although it's not something I know much about to be honest.

El Presidente likes this.
  4. John Redcorn

John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    None

May 9, 2011
    never done a script on android but on regular linux you don't have to have an extension, just have to chmod it as executable.

5. scary alien

scary alien not really so scary

Mar 5, 2010
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Welcome to the AndroidForums, Trogue!

Well, there are mime type file extensions (i.e., the files / programs associated with each file's extension suffix) that Android uses to associate things when you "reference" them (i.e., invoked in the proper context with the proper program).

You can see this with something like Astro File Manager (free in the Market) by going to menu -> More -> Preferences -> Edit File Extensions.