1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

shopsavvy - does this actually scan barcodes for anyone?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by spooksmcgee, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. spooksmcgee

    spooksmcgee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    This program worked great the first week I had it, but now it will never scan barcodes. It will scan maybe 1 out of every 10 barcodes. Is this normal? It's not scanning them and then telling me the product isn't found, it just won't scan them and sits on "Scanning barcodes, please wait." And I see tjhe little green dots running up and down the bars. I'm holding my hand as still as possible, focusing on the barcodes, and even try moving the camera in and out. I've even uninstalled and reinstalled it on my Droid X. What could be the problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. amuse

    amuse Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    18
    4
    16
    Alex here from the ShopSavvy team. Your problem seems strange. We are not seeing this issue with other users. If you send us your contact information we can work with you directly. Just email support@biggu.com and give us as much detail as possible:

    Your Name:
    Phone:
    Operating System:
    Jailbroken?:
    Picture of a few of the barcodes that won't scan.
    Details of what is happening?
    Has it ever worked for you?

     
  3. muab

    muab Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    337
    42
    63
    Alex,

    good to see such great support and attention from the Dev.


    Good job.

    I am going to go install shopsavvy just because of your post.


    Cheers,
     
  4. amuse

    amuse Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    18
    4
    16
    Awesome, let us know what you think. ShopSavvy 4.0 - the first major update to ShopSavvy on Android is coming before the holiday shopping season. We are pretty excited, hopefully you will like it too.

     
  5. capndroid

    capndroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Rocklin, CA
    I've been using this for quite awhile now and it works great. Also works nicely with QR codes. Thanks for the app!
     
  6. qwertyu

    qwertyu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I've been trying to use shopsavvy and it keeps giving me "local" stores in the same place in Ireland. I live in England. I have also set the default postcode and that does not seem to have any effect when I'm inside and hence have no GPS signal. Seems to just completely ignore that postcode and go to a random Irish town. I have not properly tried it when I'm out and about using the GPS for location but surely this default postcode should make it work indoors. It surely should work to override you current location in case someone wants to search in a different location to where they are at the time. Is this something that can be fixed?
     

Share This Page

Loading...