1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Should I force upgrade?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tinkertron, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    So i'm thinking about forcing my G1 phone upgrade to the latest and safe releasee. But I don't know what that is? Plus I hear that there are diffrent type of upgrades to the OS called MOD. I current have the DMD64 built. So is there anything better or worth doing a force upgrade? I keep hearing a verision called cupcake? Is this stable? I also hear that TMOBILE has yet to release this to their customer. I would enjoy your input in this matter. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. sal2103

    sal2103 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    England
    hi, not sure where u have been living but i thought everyone had 1.6 cupcake now. Cupcake (1.6) is the latest and yes perfectly safe version of a stock operating system on the G1.
    1.6 was the last and only official upgrade from 1.5, if you want to upgrade to a custom ROM of 2.0, 2.1 or 2.2 then you will have to root your fone first before installing custom ROMs.
     
  3. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    I'm surprise you would ask where I have been. It's like it not my fault that TMOBILE doesn't do the upgrade for me. I know there are upgrade, but TMOBILE won't allow it. I have rooted my phone, but I wasn't sure which version to go with and how to do it.
     
  4. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    Also what verison from TMOBILE is DMD64?
     
  5. sal2103

    sal2103 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    England
    lol sorry didnt mean it to come across rude its just i thought everyone would of had 1.6 by now. Well i havent rooted mine yet but im sure i have read that when you do root you device you dont get automatic updates sent to your fone so i cant really help you there.

    If u have rooted it then why dont you just install a custom ROM as that would be more up-to-date then 1.5. I hear cyanogen are the best and instead of having 1.6 you would have a better one like 2.1 etc.

    where ru from? that buld doesnt sound familiar, im from the UK and my build is DRC92
     
  6. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    I think DMD64 is latest official update, next to DRC92, both are Android 1.6. MODS are unofficial ROMs, which are ranged from Android 1.6 to 2.2.1, CyanogenMod is most famous, but there are more.
    If you're rooted and need (want) some update, you have to flash some MODified ROM, because T-Mobile won't provide any update for G1 anymore.
     
  7. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    Well I took my G1 in and had the software upgrade to the CyanorenMod6 the 2.2 Froyo. I have some mix review for this mod. They say it stable, but I kinda disagree with that. It is somewhat buggy at times, and wish I could find a simply strip verision of the 2.2. Cyanoren had bundle this mod why too much, I believe and that is why it's buggy. Some custom ROM built in that don't work, several trees of option (making it hard to find) the option you are looking for. I'm now looking for a rom that doesn't beat up on my poor old G1.
     
  8. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    CM is not bad, I'm running 6.1.0 stable now and everything is working fine and is stable. It's true, that beta versions and nightly builds are sometimes little bit unstable, or not everything is working in these builds, but therefore these are marked as unstable / nightly. If you don't need to test every build, just flash last stable build and it's OK.
     
  9. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    Well since I paid a company "Xpress Wireless" in Plano, Texas to do the upgrade, can you tell me if they used the stable version?

    Android Version 2.2.1

    Baseband Version 62.50S.20.17U_2.22.19.261

    Kernel version 2.6.35.-cyanogenmod
    shade@toxygene #2

    Mod version
    CyanogenMod-6.1.0-DS

    Build number
    FRG83
     
  10. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    Let me also report a bug that I had yesterday. I went to make a call on my phone the phone was making the connection, when I raised the phone to my ear it started to vibrate, I look down on it and notice that it started to re-boot.
     
  11. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    Yes, FRG83 is the last stable mod for Dream, I have just newer radio (2.22.23.02). I had the same reboot problem, but just when using GPS navigation (think it runs out of available memory). I use navigation every 2 months, so it's not a big problem for me, but if you have such problem during normal using, feel free to post the logs on Cyanogenmod forum (logs can be readout with "aLogcat"). Maybe on next reboot I will defeat my laziness and also post the logs.
     
  12. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
  13. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    OK, I've checked the my logs after restart and found, it's related to swap (Swapper 2 - swap volume was somehow unavailable to system -> kernel panic -> reboot). So I've created swap as file instead of partition and hopefully it willl work better now.
     
  14. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    Don't know the real difference, I think 2.22.19.26I was the last update for Europe, 2.22.23.02 was released just in USA (should have better 3G reception). Both should work (I've tried both with no prolems).
     
  15. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    Nope no change, now i'm thinking that it could be just the market app might be faulty.
     
  16. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    You can pull your logs and maybe see, what's the cause of reboots and after reboot. Please try to readout the system logs in terminal or via adb:
    - in terminal: "cat /proc/last_kmsg >/sdcard/last_kmsg"
    - adb: "adb shell cat /proc/last_kmsg >/sdcard/last_kmsg"

    and them pull it to PC "adb pull /sdcard/last_kmsg"

    If you search for some "kernel panic", you can probably see find the reason for reboot.
    In case of soft-reboot, "catlog" will show program logs.
     
  17. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    I get this message

    "adb: permission denied"
     
  18. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    I made small mistake, adb sequence should be like this :
    "adb remount"
    "adb shell"
    "cat /proc/last_kmsg >/sdcard/last_kmsg"
    "exit"
    "adb pull /sdcard/last_kmsg"

    After which command do you get "permission denied"?. I've tried it on Windows computer and many times on my home Linux computer ( of course, on Linux with "./adb" instead of "adb" ). Maybe, if you're running on Linux, you can try to run this commands as root (even on my Linux it wors well under normal user).
    IMO should adb run also on non-rooted phones (I have a rooted one) with enough permissions to perform this tasks.
     
  19. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    adb: "adb shell cat /proc/last_kmsg >/sdcard/last_kmsg"
     
  20. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    This also doesn't work on my Linux because of my mistake (bad syntax). Have you tried to execute the commands from previous post (of course without quotes)? The sentence from previous post should work, you can also try this one (just 2 steps skipped, don't remove the quotes now, they're needed for shell parameters) :

    adb remount
    adb shell "cat /proc/last_kmsg >/sdcard/last_kmsg"
    adb pull /sdcard/last_kmsg
     
  21. tinkertron

    tinkertron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    50
    4
    16
    would it be ok for me to uses and app called aLogcat instead and email myself the log and repost the log here?
     
  22. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...