1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Should I get another handset?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Needsdecaf, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    1,005
    41
    118
    Northern VA
    So I've been experiencing the bad battery life, bad signal strength and crappy data connectivity and transmit speed as many others. I'm really disappointed in the performance of the phone so far.

    I've read just about every thread on here, done all the tips and tricks, and my phone still has issues. I know that there are fixes in the works, particularly for the high "Android OS" usage that my phone has. Not sure if software can fix the signal issues (switching?) but please note this is based on performance, NOT reported numbers. Losing data when switching from 4G down to 3G and having to cycle the radio to get it back, not having any connectivity at all in marginal spots where my Droid X would work, etc. I've tried all manner of running 3G only, Wifi as much as I can, etc.

    Here's my question...if I call Verizon, the likely response is going to be "bring it back and get another handset". I'm willing to do this if there is a shot that it will improve things however I'm not sure that it will. I'll have to take a couple of hours to re-load all my apps, restore contacts, etc.

    Worth it? Or just wait for the inevitable updates?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jmill75

    jmill75 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    57
    11
    18
    i replaced mine, problem solved
     
  3. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    If I was having the problems you're having I would replace it.

    Restoring contacts is easy if you export them to your SD card then import them onto the new phone.

    Restoring apps is easy if you're rooted. Titanium backup will put them all back along with their current settings.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    lol what SD card?

    restoring contacts is easy. By adding your google acct to the new phone it will restore them.
     
  5. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    It's still considered the sd card even though it's internal.
    Go to the people app, menu, export to storage.

    I don't sync my contacts. I also don't have any problems that so many that do sync their contacts have.
     
  6. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    1,005
    41
    118
    Northern VA
    Thanks guys. Think I will try swapping it out, just to see.

    I'm not worried too much about contacts - they are all on the server or on my Gmail account. Not rooted (not planning on it either) so Ti Backup is a no go - lol, I actually had it install from whatever Google backup keeps and I uninstalled it. Just all the customization issues.

    We'll see what *611 says.
     
  7. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    I think I am going to exchange mine. I am having the same issues. Poor signal, poor battery life, a couple of reboots.

    Will probably go tomorrow after work and see what I can do.

    Since I am still within the exchange period, I assume there are no questions asked or will they give me the "that's typical" BS lines?

    I assume I will need to bring the box, etc. Ive gone through a lot of phones and haven't had to exchange one.
     
  8. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Right, take everything you can with you. They should'nt give any hassle about switching though.
     
    RadYOacTiVe likes this.
  9. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    1,005
    41
    118
    Northern VA
    So, *611 was useless as I suspected. Had me pull battery and SIM card to reset the signal. Noted that if it doesn't improve, they'd put a note in my file so that I would have no issues exchanging it.

    Which I will do tomorrow.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...