1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Should I get the CM7 HBOOT?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Abdur, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. Abdur

    Abdur Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    252
    34
    63
    So... I have hit the dreaded Internal memory limit again, and was wondering if I should/could just flash the CM7 HBOOT, and that should fix things. (Root explorer says that I have over 100 mb of free space in the /system area.)
    I was simply wondering about the process...
    Should I do a nandroid, flash the new HBOOT and then restore data?

    OR

    Do I have to install CM7 all over again and restore data via Titanium?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Paul8944

    Paul8944 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    129
    29
    43
    Quantity Surveyor
    Southampton
    If you do a nandroid, them change you h-boot and the restore nandroid it should be fine
    Just do all thus normal backups just in case.
     
    Abdur likes this.
  3. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    hi - yes do the cm7v2 hboot i think - freed up space nicely for me - went from 30mb to 150mb if i recall

    then i reflashed the rom and used titanium rather than nandroid
     
    Abdur likes this.
  4. Abdur

    Abdur Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    252
    34
    63
    Just did it, and everything went smoothly. Didnt even need the nandroid. :)

    Thanks Paul.

    (Thanks SU for the FAQ)

    EDIT: Dan, I didnt have to restore anything (did take a nandroid) All apps work fine thus far, and my internal memory spiked. :D All is well so far :)
     
  5. handy5876

    handy5876 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hows that possible. Once you flash hboot you have changed the partition table and existing data in /system and /data will be out of sync.
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i think its slightly different with hboots as opposed to custom mtds as the boot.img isnt modified or patched to the new sizes
    theoretically it can work, from what i understand there is more a risk of unbootable rom due to hboot change than the partitions being out of sync
     
  7. Abdur

    Abdur Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    252
    34
    63
    I did take a nandroid and Titanium backup just in case though. So far, no problems, but if any arise, I can just restore. :)
     
  8. handy5876

    handy5876 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have not understood I think. We have come from windows or Linux where if you change the partition table then its re installation time. I mean all the starting addresses and sizes of the partitions must change.
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    mtd is not a physical partition layout though, you are adapting the sizes by specifying values not creating partitions with container alignment etc

    with that theory you have, you wouldnt be able to nandroid and restore as the image size that is stored within nand would not match that of the new layout you have created.

    this is layout, not partitioning.
    custom MTD is different as you have to patch the boot to take the new sizes and patch the recovery to flash to those tables
     
  10. handy5876

    handy5876 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks for your time.
    How is custom mtd different from custom hboot?
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i just explained on the end

    hboot predefines the mtdlayout via the bootloader.
    custom MTD overrides the predefined layout by patching the recovery to only flash to a certain layout size specified and then patching the boot.img of the rom to only work within those constraints.
    if you do not patch boot or you do not patch recovery with custom MTD then it will bootloop.
    custom MTD can be used on any sized hboot for this reason as it bypasses the bootloader specifications.

    this is why it will behave differently and why a customMTD will need the de nandroid restored and a boot.img repatched afterwards so it can work with the new size changes
     
    Tyseyh likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...