1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Should i install the ginbread update when it comes after hacking the living daylight off my phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mohammad_Adib, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    So, about 3 days ago I finally managed to root my infuse and immediately set out to customize it. The past 2 days have been dangerously thrilling as ihave installed a new ROM and kernel. However I have a few questions because I'm confused. But first here are the specs of my phone:

    Infused 1.5.3 ROM
    Infusion 1.8 kernel
    Overclocked to 1.8ghz(stable at 1450mv and 2450 quadrant score)
    No backup of stock ROM(facepalm, if anyone has the stock rom nandroid backup, that'd be heavenly).

    So I am wondering:
    1.if at&t ever issues the gingerbread update should I update? Now I know its an obvious Duh! but I do not have the stock rom backed up nor do I plan to be on any stock froyo rom. So will my current rom or kernell mess with the phone after 2.3.3 update?

    2.should I go to infused 2.x.x rom to get gingerbread? I'm asking because I heard after you install a GingerBread rom you cant nandroid restore to a Froyo rom. Is that true?

    3. More off key, answer if you know. If I install Chainfire3D from the android market and let it mess with my gpu, can I revert back to what that app changed by doing a nandroid. backup? Basically it messes with the graphics driver and leaves no guarantee that it will improve any performance and reviews often report buggy games. So I need to know if a nandroid restore will also restore the gpu drivers back to their original state?

    Please if anyone can help I really appreciate it. My phone is at a godly state atm but I want to explore all the possibilities. Thanks.

    EDIT: I found a way to get stock ROM here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1092021;
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Well it is up do you if you want to go out of your way and restore your phone then update is up to you, but if you would rather not restore and just simply upgrade to a rooted version then wait! Someone will make the rom a rooted version, so then you can just install that rom and be done with it. Just warning you though, it may be a while before someone actually comes out with it, after it is released. It took a week for the evo's.
     
    Mohammad_Adib likes this.
  3. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    ok thx alot lol I can wait a week or to for the rom. So will the rom be a zip file for which I just do install rom from sd card and pick the zip, flash and be done with it? Second, what will happen if I do go to settings and run the update? :O will I be bricked?
     
  4. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Two very good questions, ok for the first one yes it will probably be a zip file but just stating be very sure to clean caches and maybe do a factory restore from clockworkmod. This will put it at a state were everything is brand new, BUT have everything on your external sd and internal sd sections (like downloads etc.) All apps and text messages will be deleted. Sync your contacts, i did not do that and it is a pain copying them from my iPod. Anyway this should be done/happen when you install any new rom, unless upgrading. Also follow the poster's directions (if they have any). Anyway if you install the update, no will not be bricked (it also will not install). Sounds weird but the phone will not be able to install it because clockworkmod blocks it. It works like a key, and with clockwork mod it is like the wrong keyhole. There are some cases where it actually has allowed it, but they modded their recovery to act like the original. Hope that answers your questions.
     
    Mohammad_Adib likes this.
  5. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    yes that answers my questions thx a bunch lol now I have more questions ur so knowledgable. So b4 every rom install what do I have to do? JUZT a factory restore? But if I factory restore from settings I lose my rom manager app but still have cwm recovery? This is something I did not do. It was a pain to install a rom for me. I just grabbed a rom and flashed it in a second then my ohone was freaking out at startup when some robotic woman started talking at boot about "system not found...blabkabla..partition...blablabla.." I was pretty scared. Is that dangerous? Did I mess something up? Also everytime I reinstall my rom some system app is always missing. First I was missing market and then the phone app! Next I was missing my 4g but all those are fixed except on boot I get two android.phone force closes idk why but it doesn't bother me bcuz I don't reboot often. But doing all this was totally worth it bcuz my infuse it at its best cpu power at 1.8ghz and battery life roxks too so I would much rather have a few kinks here and there than stock laggy phone
     
  6. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    The woman talking is perfectly normal, it is just saying that it is converting the partritions to whatever you installed runs on. You will still have clockworkmod, but reinstall rom manager unless if you backed it up. The force closes next time look and see what they are, that may be helpful. Anyway how did you get your phone to 1.8ghz? The guy who made that screwed up and it is really 1.55ghz, so 1.6 is the highest you can go. Just if you want to fix this install the latest kernal from him.
     
  7. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    Thanks again.
    Umm...i downloaded infusion1.8 kernel...it said 1.8ghz so i downloaded it and it is actual 1.8ghz. infact just now i got 2358 on quadrant <.< i provided screenshots from my infuse in zip format bcuz forum does not allow high-res images :D

    *Note; i am usually on 1500-1000mhz so battery doesnt drain and i havent had my phone behave strangely just blazing fast compares to stock infuse...but really if i charged to 100% and kept 1.8ghz on setCPU i probly would go crashless and battery would last about 4-5 hours. but at 1000-1500mhz i get at least 8.75 hours of battery let alone 100-1200mhz which i once got 11hrs :O after mild use.

    Do you think the kernel was fake? screenshots certainly dont agree lol!
    and heres where i got it: [Kernel-OC/UV] Infusion Kernel 1.8 Faster Fusion with more sound! - xda-developers hopefully its not fake :O

    EDIT: yea...i read the thread and it says its false and im actually at 1542ghz. BUMMER :( well what now. If i stay on this kernel will i get the highest clock speed anyway? if not which kernel shud i install in order to get the best performance out of my infuse :S ?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Mohammad_Adib likes this.
  9. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    So <.< do you think any kernel will ever let it actually go to 1.8? :( i bet this phone could do as well a processing job as an sgs2 if overclocked to 2.4 :D :D lol that would be hilarious. Seems like dev on this phone has slowed down a bit >.>
    Also whats the easiest way to get 2.3.X on my phone at the moment (where X is preferably 4 ;))?
     
  10. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Infused v2.1 is the best so far and easiest to run but it is 2.3.3. There will probably be no kernal to 1.8 because the cpu would become way too unstable. The hishest is like 1664 hz and that is barely stable (not even fully stable).
     
    Mohammad_Adib likes this.
  11. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    Thanks for recomending infusion 2.0 my phone did 2570 on quadrant on 1st run haven't gotten it further tho.

    Ok, so before getting infused 2.1 i need to clear up a few things. Here is what my procedure will be.
    1.download infused 2.1 ROM with ROM manager, nandroid backup my phone and backup files to pc.
    2.Jump straight to cwm recovery and do install from zip and install the ROM's zip file. (will not clear any caches wipe any data or restore to factory)
    3.Use titanium backup and install every single app with its data back to my phone.

    Why this procedure worries me after reading this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1220090

    1. It says that i have to have the "CWM-community-kernel-v8" kernel in order to download the ROM. I'm on the 1664ghz infusion ROM will that make a conflict with the ROM flash?

    2. It says not to restore apps with data which is something i will do.
    3. It says

    "Open SGS Kernel Flasher, select choose kernel, select the file you downloaded, and select flash kernel. Your phone will reboot and begin to enable Voodoo lagfix. Let it do that and boot all the way up. It will take a while (5-10 minutes) because it's converting all partitions to ext4."

    , so if i flash that kernel and then flash the ROM and then flash the infusion kernel i should be running infused 2.1 rom with infusion kernel correct?

    This whole process sounds way to complicated!!!
     
  12. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Well, first of all when you install it from rom manager just follow those instructios it is easier. You should install that special kernel beforehand, yes it will take away the kernel you had but that kernel does not work anyway with 2.3. You can restore the apps, but do not restore system data, as it will conflict. I used astro as my main app backup, then titanium for my original apps like angry birds. Yes flash the new kernel with the app but it will not take those 5-10 minutes to boot. This is because it was already converted due to the special kernel. Also flash the special gb version of infusion because the froyo one will not work. 1.6 is the highest on this, oh and install 1.0. The newest 1.1 was buggy on mine and other devices. Oh and the process only took me maybe fifteen minutes including the download time. It is not that bad.
     
    Mohammad_Adib likes this.
  13. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    I'm too scared. You know what they say, don't fix something that's working. But since I love to mess with my phone ill wait till att comss out with gb update and that gets made into flashable zip rom. The infused procedure has too many ways to screw up. Also I installed chainfire3d and my gpu is pulling of some amazing things. Recommend it for anyone.

    Ok also...can anyone tell me why I get 2 fcs on android.phone everytime I boot....and my phone lags unless I'm on 1.6ghz when it becones butter but even at 1248 lag is prominent on launcher pro...andd I'm nit undervolting at all yet I get 11hrs of battery on medium use...shud I undervolt? Won't that make my phone less faster? Or same speed?

    Another issue is that the phone freezes and shuts down randomly but rarely...like once a day ill leave it in sleep and it will die affer. and also it does a reboot at times too....so wierd
     
  14. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Ok, well its up to you, I will not say come on do it. Im just going to say, If you do something to it, go ahead and try it. Anyway, the force closes I have seen on Froyo and that only, the Infused rom is too stable to do a force close ha. The lag is normal, just the cpu wanting to run at too many frequencies. You can disable them by going into Voltage Control or Set Cpu and disabling some in voltage section. Undervolting will save battery, just do it at small amounts and your phone will not go crazy. Again, it turning off randomly is a rom problem you have (probably).
     
  15. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    So how do I fix the cpu problem? Should I just keep it forced to a certain frequency? Which voltages shud I disable? If a voltage is disabled then if the phone goes to that frequency is it being fed the default voltage for that frequency? I don't see how setCPU makes my phone lag :S
     
  16. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    This is hard to explain, but the lag is the kernel, but because it can operate on so many frequencies it lags trying to find the right one. I thought what I said can fix this problem, but as I try it on mine it does not. I used to know how to shut down frequencies that I do not need, but I can not remember. If it is so bad for you, then flash back to an earlier version of the kernel if you really want to because they usually come stock with less frequencies. This may not be the problem though, the rom may just be getting filled with cached content. Head to this link: [ROM] Infused v1.6.0 - Froyo - (08/31/11) - Maintenance update! - xda-developers Scroll down to the first post as it says to make the current rom faster. You can see if this helps.
     
  17. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    yea cleared the caches but that didnot remove lag. however somehow the lag dissapeared anyway :)
     
  18. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    Well, you may have had a good boot. Sometimes Android goes on battery-eating sprees, or lag-sprees. You may have gotten lucky that boot.. Haha.
     
  19. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    OK, i've got infused 2.1 with infusion 1.0 kernel running. Everything is super fine, im very happy with it and no more android.phone force closes. These are the only issues that bug me:

    - Ever since getting infusion1.0 kernel, everytime i boot it does the samsung splash screen and then total black....no boot animation!!!...but then it only stays black for like 7-10 seconds and boots lightning quick O.O...no biggie...
    - My quadrant score SUCKS!!!! i get 1500 or less!!! it went from 2570 to 1500??? I thought gingerbread made your phone faster? i was on 1.6ghz performance governer...but antutu benchmark showed better results. Quadrant also showed blank textures....not very happy with this but my phone seems much smoother and snappier and i guess that matters more than a stupid number. Is 1500 normal on the 2.1ROM and 1.0kernel??? Or is it on my end?
    - Everytime my phone sleeps...it does this TV animation where the screen shrinks and then horizontally compresses into nothing like an old TV. any way to change this??
    - How do i remove the AOSP lock screen after installing the addon? Basically how can i uninstall addons >.>
    - I don't like having only 1600mhz...i want 1664 back!! :(

    So happy with this. I finally have 2.3.3! Woohoo

    Also, can you varify my UV settings? I wanna make sure im not depriving my crappy CPU of too much juice:

    1600 : no UV (i want max performance if i'm on 1600. usually at like 1200)
    1200 : -100
    800 : -75
    400 : -50
    200 : -25
    100 : no UV (who cares about UV here...i dont even let my CPU go this low unless screen's off)

    PS> the reason the phone wud shut off before was because i had it on ondemand governor and for some reason that kept my phone from waking up. so it wasnt off...it jusyt wudnt wake up! Conservative saved that.
     
  20. Ryanscool

    Ryanscool Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    399
    27
    43
    School
    Colorado
    I will try to answer your questions haha ok 1. It skips the bootup screen to load faster 2. Try the tweaks over in XDA to improve your quadrant if you want, I did that even though first off mine were not that slow 3. Te T.V. animation is supposed to be there and in my opinion it looks cool, I do not think you can disable it 4.I asked the same question over and over on XDA about the aosp lockscreen 5. Why do you want to overclock that tiny amount? The overclock settings seem lower then mine, which is probably better and as long as your phone runs fine then the UV settings are good, just do not overdo it ha.
     
    Mohammad_Adib likes this.
  21. Mohammad_Adib

    Mohammad_Adib Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    155
    12
    38
    Student
    Bellevue, WA
    Cool. Thread officially old. Answer to title: HECK NO
     

Share This Page

Loading...