1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Should I let Sprint flash my Hero to 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TravelDave, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. TravelDave

    TravelDave Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    28
    2
    16
    I went in to the Sprint store because my headphone jack stopped working. Their first potential solution was to upgrade me to 2.1 (thinking it's a software problem not a hardware problem). I'm not sure that I believe them, but that's neither here nor there.

    I have been planning on rooting my phone and I have heard that once Sprint flashes the phone up to 2.1 that my options are much more limited (and that their upgrade is irreversible). Is that true? Should I let them upgrade my phone?

    Dave
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Going up to 2.1 is irreversible, if you plan on rooting then don't worry about going to 2.1. Once you are rooted you can flash whatever 2.1 or 1.5 based custom rom you like so no need to limit yourself.
     
  3. TravelDave

    TravelDave Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    28
    2
    16
    If the Sprint store does move it to 2.1 (as part of trying to fix my headphone jack) can I still root it after they do the upgrade and switch to a different ROM?
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
  5. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    You will have to Ruu to the .5 version of 2.1 that was before the software update first. This is a small extra step but yes. I'd let Sprint do it if they keep hassling you and insisting that is the problem.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...