1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support should i root my captivate?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kylec, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. kylec

    kylec Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    35
    0
    35
    boating
    CT
    Hello everyone,

    i've been reading some forums and i'm wondering if i should root my captivate. I'm new to android and i don't really know the pros and cons about rooting. Any information or suggessions would be great. Thanx.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Here are a couple of links found by using the forum's Search function:

    Why Root - Android Wiki

    Five Great Reasons to Root Your Android Phone

    One of my personal top 5 "reasons to root" is the ability to fully utilize backup programs such as Titanium and MyBackup Pro.

    The operative word is "control."

    Now as to whether you should root, you'll need to determine how important the reasons are to you personally.

    Note: You will void your warranty, but you can always re-create a stock phone environment if warranty service is needed.
     
  3. incy1020

    incy1020 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    42
    4
    16
    Hi:
    If you decide to root. Look for a tool called Unleash the Beast. It can be found on xda-developers. It makes it SO easy to root. I am a long time Winmo user, and have always been to chicken to hard spl etc, but with Unleash the Beast, even a noobie can get the Captivate rooted easy as pie :)
     
  4. kylec

    kylec Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    35
    0
    35
    boating
    CT
    So if i root my phone will i b able to get skype on my samsung captivate. Or is there another way i can get it. I've been checking it out online and reading other forums. I saw mymarket has it, but when i downloaded mymarket it is trying to load. Doesn't seem like anything is happening.
     
  5. ShutterBC

    ShutterBC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Computer security
    Boston, MA
    I'm afraid rooting won't really give you instant access to Skype. The current Skype app was designed for use with Verizon phones. There are some alternatives, however, like iSkoot or Fring.
     

Share This Page

Loading...