1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Should I root my x10?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jeh0753, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. jeh0753

    jeh0753 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hi: I just purchased an X10. I know that I can update my phone to 2.1 without rooting it, but once I have updated it, will I still have to deal with Sony's alterations to the OS? Am I better off rooting it as well?
     

    Advertisement

  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
  3. jeh0753

    jeh0753 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Ok, so are these sony alterations for the better or worse? Would I be better off removing these customizations, and is there a way to update to a 'purer' version of the Android 2.1 OS?
     
  4. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Pretty much the same blue theme throughout as 1.6. See the differences HERE.
    Each to their own on the look, and you can load the AOSP ROM, but they are still in better stage, which is why I'm waiting before installing one.
     
  5. jeh0753

    jeh0753 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    So, the only alterations sony made is to the look? There are no sony-specific widgets I'd be stuck with, or sony-specific menus?
     
  6. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    604
    42
    88
    Male
    DB2 DBA
    Florida
    I am new to the X10 too, but the only "Bloatwear" I see seems to be from At&t, so I think it is more carrier specific than manufacturer.

    I deleted it all from the home screens, I can't delete it from the device, but you don't see it so not sure it is a big deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...