1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Should I Switch To Amon Ra?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LittleRedDot, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    I'm using the other one, but it seems to be the preferred recovery amongst you folks. If I were so inclined, and there were specific benefits, please let me know how to make the switch.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
  3. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

  4. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I say yes. Just download the latest one and flash it. Make sure its named PC36IMG.zip no extra zip at the end and all in caps before the "."
     
    mikem0269, andygu3 and Rxpert83 like this.
  5. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Hey, just wait one minute! CWM recovery works just fine! I used it for over a year, and didn't have too many problems. ;)

    I'm just kidding, LOL. :D
    I'll +1 the new amon-ra style recovery. It just works better, it has a more refined UI, and you don't have to wipe 8000 times per flash. Ok I still wipe 8000 times pet flash, but that's beside the point. :) I'm a force of habit.

    Absolutely switch, you'll never look back.
     
  6. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Tried flashing, got an abort - "can't find updated script"
     
  7. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    While We're on the subject, how do I take screen shots in recovery?
     
  8. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I don't think you can take screenshots while in recovery, unless I missed a new feature somewhere.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  9. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    So this was BEFORE you became a flashaholic? :p
     
    argedion, mikem0269 and Granite1 like this.
  10. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    any ideas, gonna try a battery pull and re-flash?
     
  11. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    I've seen recovery SS posted in these forums, how could it not be possible?
     
  12. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    You don't flash this like a regular zip file. It needs to be named "PC36IMG.zip" exactly (without the quotes) and on the root of your SD card. This means the top level of your SD card, so not in any folders on your SD card. Load up the bootloader (the white menu you get to while holding vol down and power at the same time). It wills can for the PC36IMG.zip file and when it finds it, hit yes to update. Then select no for rebooting and then you can go back into your new recovery.
     
    mikem0269, ocnbrze and andygu3 like this.
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    It also uses the capacitive buttons so it saves the wear and tear of the volume buttons and power button.

    As follows(from left to right):

    Home button= Scroll up

    Menu button= Scroll down

    Arrow return button= Return to previous screen

    Search button= Select


    This makes it so easy:)
     
    argedion and MizzouBrent like this.
  14. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Wow I didn't even realize that. Since I always back up recovery when I nand backup, I had reverted back to 2.3 and kept it for awhile, but I guess now I will switch back.

    Edit: I knew back went back, but didn't realize I could use the other buttons too.
     
    dustwun77 and andygu3 like this.
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Yep, this is one of many reasons I like this recovery. Saving that wear and tear on the power button is probably the most beneficial, seeing that some have had issues with the power button going bad. And for us flashaholics:p who flash on a regular basis, well........I don't feel like returning my phone or getting a new phone anytime soon:)
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  16. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Love the capacitive buttons option, rawks!
     
  17. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I've been on 3.08, is there a changelog for this 3.11?
     
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The instructions are right on the link I provided in the 2nd post. This is NOT a flashable zip. It is done in H-boot
     
  19. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    Ugggg I guess im going to have to change to the new one:mad:
     
  20. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Thanks for the advice Mizz.. I followed your instructions to the letter, no joy. When I check the properties of the file it's named PC36IMG.zip.zip, so I deleted the .zip and re-checked the file name, which was now PC36IMG.zip. The bootloader scanned for it but it went so fast I couldn't see what failure message it gives, but there's no option to update. so I tried again and again, still in Android System Recovery.

    Do I need to get rid of the old recovery file first?
     
  21. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    Dont keep PC36IMG files on your sd card or at least change the name after doing the update, If there is more than 1 i dont think it will do anything or it will just do the first one it finds.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  22. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    I'm using supersonic's recovery... Do I need to locate and delete that recovery file before going back into bootloader?
     
  23. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    No, it will be overwritten! :D
     
    mikem0269 likes this.
  24. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If it doesnt give the option to update it is because it found the old file on your card and it recognized it wasnt anything different that what you already had installed.
     
    mikem0269 likes this.
  25. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    So I could be running Amon Ra without knowing it?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...