1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Should I update to Android Q?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by joshzheng77, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. joshzheng77

    joshzheng77 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019

    Jun 8, 2019
    1
    0
    5
    Does anyone here have Android Q beta 4 on their Pixel 3a? If so, should I get it? Is it really buggy?

    On Android P, there's this bug on Pixel 3 and 3a where if you use a third party launcher, there's this annoying bug where when you swipe up on the navigation pill to go to recents, there's this weird double vibrate thing. With the new Android Q navigation, does that bug still persist?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,326
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,326
    47,589
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I signed up for the beta program, but I think it's been suspended / halted for all pixels for the near term.

    As far as the 3rd party l'm doing my damnedest to stick with OEM and not go with Nova. If I give I'll post back my findings.
     
    codesplice and ocnbrze like this.
  3. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,105
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,105
    10,759
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Like @Unforgiven said, the rollout of Beta 4 is currently on hold; it sounds like it was bricking some devices so I'd definitely hold off for now.

    I did install the beta on my Pixel 3 before the OTA got halted, but I'm leaving my 3a on P for now. It's been stable for me but I'll still offer my usual advice:

    If you have to ask 'Should I install the beta?' then you're probably better off waiting for the stable release.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,795
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,795
    19,250
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It also depends on whether there are any apps that are critical for you? If there are, check whether they are working with the beta before signing up, because leaving the programme before the end (i.e. returning to Android P) is a bit of a hassle (requires a factory reset).

    Last year I was in the beta programme, this year I have one app I require and for which there are no alternatives and it's not working yet (may not work at all until the release is official and certified). So I keep an eye out for any reports of that changing, but for now I can't join.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  5. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    377
    299
    108
    Male
    Retired
    Rescue, California
    I have Android Q Beta 4 on my Pixel 3a XL. I got it before it was withdrawn and, fortunately, it didn't brick my phone. I've been trying to use the Pixel launcher but I just switched to Nova in order to see if the bug you mentioned still exists. When I swipe up on the navigation pill to go to recents, there is no vibration whatsoever.

    So far I haven't seen any bugs but I have a lot of apps and I'm still testing. The Pixel 3a XL is a backup phone for me. I wouldn't recommend installing the Beta on your primary phone.
     
    #5 WeeWilly, Jun 11, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
    codesplice likes this.
  6. poplay

    poplay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019

    Apr 3, 2019
    1
    0
    5
    Anyone else had crappy cellular signal after the update?
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,105
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,105
    10,759
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I've seen some users reporting that but haven't noticed it myself. Are you seeing noticeably worse connectivity (dropped calls, unable to pass data, etc) or is it just indicating a lower signal strength?
     
  8. lion7718

    lion7718 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #192
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    262
    80
    63
    Updating mine right now.

    I figured since I just got it today, no sense on getting used to Pie.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,231
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,231
    17,147
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    can we change the title to android 10? there is no Q......just saying....lol
     
  10. rdsok

    rdsok Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #221
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    281
    70
    53
    The original post was made when there was a beta version of Android Q...
     
  11. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #292
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    253
    10
    38
    Male
    Updated today: Seems fine...
     

Share This Page

Loading...