1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SicOpat's KI4 Rom released

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ironass, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    SicOpat has released KI4 ROM. :D

    * completely stock ODEXED

    * Ninphetamine kernel 2.1.3
    --CWM 4.0.0.2
    --CWM Manager apk included
    --with BLN support
    --Overclockable (1,6 Ghz max), undervoltable using SetCPU (never use Tegrak with it)

    * modified lights.GT-I9100.so library to enabled BLN control apk
    * Extended Power Menu (stock like)
    * Stock browser hardware accelerated
    * CRT effect fixed
    * SIP enabled over 3G
    * Stock battery
    * Gtalk audio/video fixed
    * SIP enabled on WIFI / 3G
    * And nothing more !

    See here:-

    [ROM][22/09][XWKI4] SicOpaT's ROM BASE ODEXED + THEMES + MODs (APM,BLN,HOME FIX ...) - xda-developers
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I'm SO tempted!
    Just when I'm starting to settle down nicely with Revolution.
    Damn and blast you, you git! :D

    What are your early thoughts on it butty?
     
  3. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Fast and smooth... :)

    UPDATE

    Loving the circle battery in the new KI4 theme... :D
     
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Hmmm....The thick plottens!
    Decisions decisions

    :D
     
  5. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Go for it hawker!

    So long as you do a full backup of Revolution, you can just switch between the two using Restore. No wipe needed.

    Bet you do it before I get back. :D
     
  6. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Well I've just downloaded the ROM.
    Now to decide what I should do with it! :D

    If I do decide to give it a go :rolleyes: is it best to do a CWM backup of my system first, and/or Titanium?
    And as usual, you would then recommend a full wipe?
     
  7. Snazzy

    Snazzy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    460
    37
    43
    As with any new ROM you should do a CWM backup so you can roll back easily if you have a problem. Unless you are using a previous version of this Mod then a full wipe is probably a good idea and perhaps required. I Don't bother with Titanium as I let Google remember which apps I like and they are downloaded as soon as I sign in for the first time. Some apps like TouchDown include a "backup settings" feature that I use if available.

    I'll be installing this later today and will report back my thoughts here.
     
  8. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Cheers snazzy.

    So if i put this ROM on and play about with it for a few days and decide I prefer Revolution, will by doing a CWM restore restore absolutely everything? Ie. All apps, settings, accounts, passwords, wifi networks, icons on homescreens, current theme, even call logs?

    Will I basically be back to the exact same point that the backup took place?
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Yes. It'll be as if you instantly stepped back in time. :)
     
    Hawker likes this.
  10. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah. It will put you're phone back to exactly how it was before you flashed sicopat
     
    Hawker likes this.
  11. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    You beat me to it Slug
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I haz Ninja skillz! :cool:
     
  13. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    And I have fat fingers.
     
  14. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I may very well give this a pop soon then!
    :cool:

    This is great if there are a few roms that you just cant decide on which is best. Easy just to flip between them. And I guess updates would be a lot simpler once they are on, just install over the top instead of having to start afresh each time.

    EDIT: Just doing a CWM backup!!!!

    One quick question with regards to the individual mods (eg. battery circle, bln etc) It seems that different versions exist for these for the different firmwares (KH3, KI4). Once I have installed Sicopat KI4 rom plus all the mods that I want, and Sicopat releases the next version of his rom (Eg. KJ1) will installing his new version keep all of the individual mods, or will they all have to be redone again?
     
  15. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    you got the bug hawker
     
  16. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Looks like Syd mate!

    Installing as I type right now!!! Scary! :D
     
  17. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    looking forward to hearing your comparison.
     
  18. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
    Damn you guys it sounds like a good rom but really don't want to wipe everything argh

    P.s can you still use ADW etc
     
  19. wrighty.uk.gor

    wrighty.uk.gor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    98
    11
    18
    Make sure you post a comparison mate i still on revolution and really don't wanna leave it. But would if there was some great benefits
     
  20. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Installing a new version of rom will wipe individual mods
     
    Hawker likes this.
  21. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I've downloaded the bln mod, the circle battery mod and a few others, and tried installing them via the instructions (ie. install zip from sd card) but they dont seem to have taken any affect.

    Also I cant seem to activate that JKayDeluxe theme where you can select what you want in your power menu, sliding buttons on lock screen etc.. I've installed all the zips in CWM but its as if nothing has happened.

    Any ideas where I've gone wrong? I think I will miss Revolution's Kitchen app!

    Apart from this, early signs are very good indeed. You wouldnt know at all your on a custom rom. Sicopat seems to be a very modest bloke indeed. Everything seems to be very snappy and instant, but then again, I wasnt unhappy with revolution.

    Up to now, wakelocks are coinciding with screen on.

    However, since Sicopat I've not had a single wifi dropout at work yet neither, but this may have coincided with me changing security from WPA2 to WEP, as I think the SGS2 was losing track of the wifi every time the router auto-generates its key, but this is another story!

    I shall dabble further tonight and let yuo all know how I get on.
    :)
     
  22. Snazzy

    Snazzy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    460
    37
    43
    If you have successfully installed SicOpat's KI4 Rom then regarding BLN you only need to go to the market and download the free or paid version of BLN Control by NELDAR. It works great!

    So I am running SicOpat's KI4 Rom and really enjoying BLN and a NON-ODEXED Browser. Next observations will be battery which will take a couple of days.
     
  23. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I've done everything i think is correct:
    downloaded XWKI4 : SicOpaT_BASE_ODEX_XWKI4.zip (320.69 MB)
    i did a full wipe then I booted into CWM recovery and installed .zip from SDCARD
    rebooted. The android first run wizard was in Danish! so changed to english
    I got everything up and running, so then concentrated on the mods, so from the links in Sicopats post 2 I downloaded:
    * HOME Button LAG FIX - thanks to Oliwe : HERE (see >HERE< for more info )
    * odexed Camera.apk : Vol button to focus and shoot photos, better audio quality, usage with any battery life - thanks to Potatoman & Lary : HERE
    * odexed MMS.apk : no MMS auto-conversion -200 contacts per SMS - fixed received time - thanks to muveszur : HERE
    * Enable of BLN for stock samsung SMS application (you will need BLN Control, not included) : HERE
    * Disable full charged battery notifications : HERE
    * XWKI4_ODEX_HTC_CircleGreen theme

    I've also downloaded the BLN app off the market.

    Copied the zips over to SDCard then I rebooted into CWM Recovery and chose install zip from SDCard.

    Nothing changes. No theme, no BLN. Probably no battery silencer
    in his page sicopat says CWM Manager apk included but i cant see this anywhere

    Where have I gone wrong?

    After installing Sicopats rom, my phone is now:
    Baseband: XXKI1
    Kernel: 2.6.35.11-ninphetimine-2.1.3+ninpo@titan #26
    Build number: GINGERBREAD.XWKI4

    I think I might restore back to Revolution at this rate.
     
  24. Snazzy

    Snazzy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    460
    37
    43
    What I did....
    - Made a CWM backup, wiped/factory reset, wiped cache, wiped Dalvik cache(advanced option in CWM Recovery).
    - Flashed SicOpaT_BASE_ODEX_XWKI4.zip via CWM recovery, rebooted.
    - Installed BLN Control from market.

    I suspect your problem with BLN and perhaps the other mods is the instructions you are following are for previous versions of this ROM and this latest version has it built in now. Developers create software but are notoriously poor in documentation.

    My modem, kernel and build number match yours exactly. I would suggest if you are interested in another go is wipe and do the simpler steps I did above and try again. Certainly BLN should work for you.
     
  25. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Do you get the extra options in the power menu?
    I just get the standard 4 options and no more
    Did you get CWM Manager? I cant find it anywhere

    EDIT: Seems like Sicopat forgot to do something in the original download, and he's just re-upped the rom .zip.
    I'll have to give it another try. Bugger. Just as I've configured everything again! :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...