1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Side control for ringtone volume

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smurph1, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. smurph1

    smurph1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    252
    12
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    After an update received before Xmas, now back to work, where I turn onto silent or vibrate for meetings, I have noticed that the ringtome side control is playing up.....it mainly now controls media volume, and occasionally ringtone volume.....this is obviously some form of bug, I believe since update.
    Anyone else agree?
    Is it something else causing it?
    Can it be rectified?
     

    Advertisement

  2. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Is the update you are referring to the one that gave you android 4.1 jellybean? Did you do a factory reset since you updated? El Presidente has a good thread about how a factory reset can help with problems after a major update: http://androidforums.com/htc-one-x-xl/666917-jb-update-issues-factory-resets-please-read.html

    Otherwise, I have noticed the issue on my device, which is still running 4.0.4. It only happens when I leave open a program that doesn't completely close, though, and it only takes so much as to close the program to solve the issue on my device.
     
  3. smurph1

    smurph1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    252
    12
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Thanks for that, yes after JB update. Haven't done a factory reset, mainly as there are and I have so many other settings that I dread doing it, as it takes so much re-configuring everything, but will investigate.
    I never completely close a program, only go to home....theer is no simple, supplied obvious way, or am i wrong?
     
  4. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    well, for me it is usually games that cause the issue. and if you go to the main page of the game and press the back key, it'll give you an option to close the game, which should do it's job and close the game.

    Also as for the settings, don't trust me on it until someone backs me up, but I believe there is a way to save settings and restore them in android 4.1. Not sure how to use it, though, seeing how i'm still on 4.0
     
  5. smurph1

    smurph1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    252
    12
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Don't use games, and few apps close like that.
    Will investigate exporting settings.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...