1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support sideload update problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aekhhi, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. aekhhi

    aekhhi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    101
    1
    36
    Okay so I called into AT&Ts tech support and was successful on getting the sideload update. Almost immediately. But now I can't download from the marketplace and instantly get an error message saying that my download was unsuccessful. It only just started happening after the update and now I'm stuck because I can't update my current programs ... like the flash 10.3 update.

    Any suggestions? Or has anyone else had this problem?

    My phone isn't rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. aekhhi

    aekhhi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    101
    1
    36
    anyone? help please?
     
  3. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    I have not run into this problem on any of the inspires I had that got the update. Have you tried a battery pull? I have read a lot of people complaining about market problems not just on the inspire
     
  4. caulkblauk

    caulkblauk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    @aekhhi: Can you tell me how to go about getting the sideload update?
     
  5. aekhhi

    aekhhi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    101
    1
    36

    call into at&t's tech support and tell them that you know about the sideload update for your inspire and that you would like it pushed to your phone because you haven't received it yet.

    if the person says they can't, tell them to get a supervisor because the girl I spoke with had to go through someone else in her department to get it. she was extremely nice about it though and was able to keep me on the line. I got it instantly too. so I didn't have to wait a few days.
     
  6. aekhhi

    aekhhi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    101
    1
    36
    I might do a battery pull. I'm surprised by how many I've had to do though. just for random reasons. not like a blackberry where I had to do one every 4 hours or so. but it works with wifi I know that much. just when I wasn't connected to wifi it came up with that error.
     
  7. thedean416

    thedean416 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    what is sideload thanks in advanced
     
  8. RigelX

    RigelX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    129
    19
    38
    Alabama
    Sideloading is installing apps from soures other than the Adroid Market.
    To see if it's enabled on your phone, got to Settings > Applications and at the top of the list it should say "Unknown Sources" and have a checkbox next to it.
    When checked you can install apps from Amazon's market or direct from a web site.
     
    goya likes this.
  9. Rockinfigs

    Rockinfigs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    286
    21
    38
    if battery pull doesnt work..goto settings then applications then all then look for Market..then clear data
     
  10. KRoberts

    KRoberts Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Colorado
    Rockinfigs, That doesn't work either.
     
  11. scorpiopantera

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    37
    0
    35
    Mine worked with a battery pull.
     
  12. 01gtgirl

    01gtgirl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    i am so new to the android market stuff but when i click on apps it just says manage apps, running services, development, fast boost, where do i go from here?

    thanks
     
  13. ninja_reject

    ninja_reject Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    536
    83
    98
    You do not have the sideloading option. Call customer service and firmly tell them they need to push it through. Be indignant. If they pretend to not know what you are talking about, tell them you want to talk to a supervisor. Don't let them push you around.
     
  14. fun841

    fun841 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011

    Jun 23, 2011
    26
    3
    16
    New York City
    I just got the Unknown Sources to appear. Only took 5 minutes with a representative on att chat. Step by step instructions given and it appeared right as they said to check for it. Now I can finally enjoy the amazon appstore.
     
  15. Chief714

    Chief714 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    120
    5
    56
    I chatted with a rep today and they pushed quick fast and in a hurry. Took no time at all. Unfortunately I'm at work where there is like NO service, so the rep just said that as soon as I get home it should push thru. If not, plug into my wireless at home and give a few. Or chat back.

    Literally, the chat took like 5 minutes. I will NEVER CALL At&t again... in my whole life... ever. I hate the phone reps... seriously. It's like they send them to butthole training before they start. sigh.... jerks :mad:
     
  16. brianb76

    brianb76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011

    Jul 8, 2011
    2
    4
    6
    All you have to do is go to settings_applications then all apps look for customizable settings provider open it clear all data hit back once go down to setting open it clear data and wala its fixed
     
  17. Ohio_Jay

    Ohio_Jay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    IT & Purchasing Manager
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Yes but if you do this you lose the ability to send mms
     
  18. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX

    This didn't happen to the inspire I did it on, only thing changed was the wallpaper and ringtone
     
    Ohio_Jay likes this.
  19. Ohio_Jay

    Ohio_Jay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    IT & Purchasing Manager
    Cleveland, Ohio

    I thought I read on XDA where they said that would affect that. In that case I'll give it a shot. Thank you.

    Update...I did it and it worked although I don't seem to be able to change my wallpaper from the bright rainbow one and can not send or receive mms messages.
     
  20. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    I'll see if I can play with my friends phone and see what settings and what not she has. Cause she also change her wallpaper back right after.

    Edit: turns out she doesn't use mms through texting so she never noticed a problem. She just uploads to fb or email. But the wallpaper issue she didn't have to restart her phone i handed it back to her and she change it right back. She did receive one mms message in a text shortly after but hadn't gotten any since (usually everyone she knows sends her emails with pics instead of texts) I asked her to try and send a pic thru text app an she said she would try later after work.
     
  21. cartman308

    cartman308 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    I cant get the phone to take the push. ATT chat has pushed it mutliple times. They are telling me the inpsire won't accept it.............. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...