1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Signal issues? Want better upload/download speeds?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mihneagabriel, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. mihneagabriel

    mihneagabriel Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    110
    12
    38
    Try this:

    Low Signal Issue Resolved! - xda-developers

    I had signal strength around -80, download of .9mb, and upload of .6mb with the previous PRL (59021 or something like that) with the one that's posted I get -60 signal, download of 1.8mb and upload of .9mb.

    Just follow the steps in the link. If you need to go back just do *228. Make you sure you unzip before you update the prl.
     

    Advertisement

  2. metalmenance

    metalmenance Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    145
    27
    43
    Sams Club
    Knoxville, Tn
    im in tenn and never had alltel, the coverage map dont show here so dont think its worth the trouble to see
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    that's the altel prl file (roaming on altell) I used it back in the Spring when I had my dinc.

    Resolved would be quite an exaggeration. ;) :p
     
  4. illusionz

    illusionz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    Wow.

    The old prl from may didn't work as well as this one.

    I went from -118db to -86 db.

    That's like 1 bar to 3.

    Pretty good.

    Thanks for passing this info along.
     
  5. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Not completly sure, but you might want to be careful using an Alltel prl. In some areas, like mine, altell didn't have native evdo and piggybacked on Sprint for data. Not sure how VZW is with in market data roaming.
     
  6. illusionz

    illusionz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    Ah crap, that makes me worry.

    I don't think they'd charge for something like that though...
     
  7. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,675
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    1,675
    206
    143
    Westchester, NY
    Has anyone tried this in NYC?

    I have 0 - 1 bars in my house. No dropped calls, but i do get missed calls (all of a sudden i have a voicemail, it never rang)
     
  8. mike1

    mike1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    191
    10
    38
    Boston
    im pretty sure its only for southern areas of the US
     
  9. illusionz

    illusionz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    94
    6
    16

Share This Page

Loading...