1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Signal problem T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by psionguy, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    I have just got my desire on T-Mobile, and am happy with the phone. But the signal strength both on my wifi and phone signal is very week. I was originally on T-Mobile for many years and never had a signal problem at home, so I tried my sim in an old Nokia and I am getting full bars, in my desire it fluctuates between 1-3 bars. I also have an N-router set up and get perfect coverage right across the house with all my wifi devices, but not the desire, even if I am only a few feet away from my router the best I can get is about 50% strength.

    Is there a problem with the firmware, or do I have hardware issue, any comments welcome.
     

    Advertisement

  2. pace960

    pace960 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Have you got the latest firmware? I believe there is already a firmware update on the HTC site for T-mobile users
     
  3. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    Thanks, but have checked and do have latest firmware 1.15.110.11
     
  4. PJD007

    PJD007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    82
    2
    16
    Where do you find the firmware version the phones runnning ?
     
  5. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    menu - settings - about phone
     
  6. PJD007

    PJD007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    82
    2
    16
    Thanks.
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Is the old nokia also on 3G?
     
  8. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    No, would that make a difference?

    Still does not explain the terrible wifi connection.Not sure I am going to solve these issues, shame it's a great phone.
     
  9. Scythe

    Scythe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    106
    27
    43
    Remember, the wifi is on B/G. The chip supports N, but the software does not at the moment. So, if you have a wireless N router and you're use to using a wireless N capable laptop, there will be a huge difference in coverage.

    Also you might want to toy with your channel settings on the router to find the best signal to noise ratio.
     
  10. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Yes 2G and 3G have different signals.

    As for the wi-fi, could be a channel clash issue if people around you also have wi-fi. Try changing the channel.
     
  11. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    Will give that a try. I have a HTC touch Pro which is 18 months old, so must assume that this does not support N router either, but the signal is excellent, so I still feel there is an issue with the Desire.
     
  12. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    It has a good signal when used at the same time as the desire?

    Remember PC wi-fi is a lot better at dealing with channel clash/chatter and dropped packets than the wi-fi chips in devices like our desires.
     
    psionguy likes this.
  13. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    Following your previous post I checked T-Mobile 3g coverage for my area, and it is not good. The WiFi issue is still strange, as stated my HTC touch pro does not have any problems, but this I am sure will be sorted on a firmware upgrade. I think the best solution is I decide to keep the phone is to put the phone on G2 coverage and use my WiFi for internet whilst I am at home, and then when I go out select G3, although have not found out how to do this yet.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  14. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    There should be a widget for it in the market
     
  15. psionguy

    psionguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    52
    2
    36
    London
    Thanks for that, found one, should make life a bit easier.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...