1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Signal Problems (Sprint)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BluBeaSSt, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. BluBeaSSt

    BluBeaSSt Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    Truck Driver
    Kansas City MO
    Anyone else having this issue with the new Nexus on Sprint? I bought it Sunday and I started to notice that I barley get any Data unless I'm connected to Wifi.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RomeSC

    RomeSC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Yes. I am new to Sprint, I switched to pick up the Galaxy Nexus. This is my first Sprint device. In my area I am supposed to have full 3G coverage, yet I am getting (0.1mbps) speeds on 3G when I can actually get 1-2 bars, (0.2 mbps) when I get 3 bars... which is very rare. Typically I am getting 0-1 bars and NO DATA connection at all. Can't even stream pandora which I used to be able to do very fast on Tmobile 2G EDGE network... What the heck...
     
  3. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    This is the perfect thread for potential Sprint customers who are considering getting the Galaxy Nexus to see, lol.

    Anyways (so I can add something of value to my post), have you all taken the phone to your local store to see if there's maybe something wrong with your local network or the phone? At least to compare it to other phones or other Gnex's in the store to see if it's an issue with your specific phone or not.
     
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    I moved this into the regular Galaxy Nexus forum since it isn't really Root related.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  5. TheOozyman

    TheOozyman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    84
    14
    18
    Male
    This is the reason why I moved off of virgin mobile (runs on sprint network) to t-mobile. although i had the Motorola triumph on VM - the reception was terrible
     
  6. razrx

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    4
    16
    Its a Samsung Nexus phone on the Sprint network, the worst combo imaginable. Did you ever have the Nexus S 4G? I had one and the radios were awful. I would go into roaming just driving around town and terrible wifi signal. Tons of people complained but Sprint blamed Samsung's radios and Samsung blamed Sprint's network. Bottom line is we never got a fix and I had to sell the phone and buy an ET4G at retail price. So yea, good luck with that man. I would return it now if you can.
     
    jroc likes this.
  7. will_a

    will_a Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    28
    6
    16
    Littleton, CO
    I'm having the same issue with zero 3g not to mention 4g coverage. Long time Sprint customer though and never had this issue before. Only thing that changed was the phone from the original evo to this. Pretty obvious what the problem is.

    I'm going to call Sprint and see if I can switch phones. Unless I'll have better luck going into a brick and mortar store? What do you guys think?


    will
     
  8. BluBeaSSt

    BluBeaSSt Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    Truck Driver
    Kansas City MO
    You won't get normal 4G with the Nexus, you have to wait until the LTE comes out in your area. Also I talked to a manager at sprint and they said they were awear of what was going on and there would be an update in about a week.
     
  9. suprmallet

    suprmallet Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    IIRC Sprint and Samsung said they'd also have a fix out quickly for the Nexus S 4G when it had radio problems. I wouldn't hold my breath.
     
    jroc likes this.
  10. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    The same issue lots of folks have with the VZW Galaxy Nexus I bought one when they first came out and couldn't even make phone calls with it the radio was so bad.

    Really hope things work out for you. The phone has tons of potential, just does not seem to work for everyone :(
     
  11. bassic

    bassic Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    I realize it's been about a month since this thread was updated and I haven't seen any resolution yet. I want to share my experience. My EVO finally died (original EVO, two years old now) and I figured I'd go with a Galaxy Nexus. Immediately upon activating I noticed the data speeds were very slow. I'm not worried about signal bars too much since they're not very meaningful (though they were lower than what I had on my EVO) but there was a noticeable problem with data just not working or working much slower than my old EVO. A quick search led me to tons of posts of people complaining about the Galaxy Nexus and slow or nonexistent data connections. I was in an area where I know there's bad reception and I wasn't able to load a webpage. I tried loading that same page with my wife's iPhone (Sprint) and while slow, the page still loaded.


    Is there any solution to this problem? Is it in fact bad hardware from Samsung? I have the latest FD02 software update and the data connection just plain sucks. I'm going to run into a Sprint store and compare it side by side with a demo phone just to see any differences.
     
  12. LoyalServant

    LoyalServant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,049
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,049
    267
    163
    Male
    Programmer
    Columbia, SC
    I may get knocked around for this.... but my experience with Sprint in the past has always been that of pain.
    T-Mobile has a faster 2G network than Sprint's 3G network from my experience and in my area.
    Calls were fine.... just data was excruciatingly slow.

    It's probably not the device but going to a store and comparing it to something else may be interesting.
    I have not seen Sprint Nexus uses report the same sort of issues as Verizon users.

    I have co-workers using Sprint with Android devices and they always have slow page loads or timeouts when I have no problems on a Verizon or T-Mobile device.
     
  13. bassic

    bassic Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    I've had Sprint for the past 10 years and to be honest I've never had an issue with call connectivity or data speeds. I had the EVO when it first came out two years ago, and I always had excellent 3G speeds (living in both NY and LA metro areas during that time), much faster than the AT&T iPhones that I've compared it to. My nephew has a LG Optimus T on T-Mobile and the 3G data is slower than anything I've seen, though I've only tried it in one area so maybe it's just a local tower issue.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...