1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Signal Strenght Issue on Incredible 2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jammitnyc, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. jammitnyc

    jammitnyc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, I just got a new Incredible 2 and am having major issues with having no signal strength at all. Sometimes I can get 1 to 2 bars but they quickly go away. My other phone had nothing but strong signal no matter where I went but this one gets nothing. My company even has multiple repeaters in our buildings. Most coworkers have verizon and no one else is having this problem. Any suggestions? thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Are you just judging your signal by the bars or looking at the dbs in the "network info" screen under "about phone"? The signal bars are HIGHLY inaccurate and unreliable. You need to compare dbs to dbs.
     
  3. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,836
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,836
    924
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    Try dialling *228 send. Select 1. Repeat (after reboot if it does it automatically) but select 2 this time. Reboot.
    Any better?

    Edit: sdrawkcab25 is right though bars mean almost nothing. Db is the real measure.
     
  4. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA

    I am in the same boat always sitting at about -100dbs called vzw and talk to tech support and they opened a ticket in my area to check things so i wwonder if alot of people are calling about this but your not the fist to complain about the inc2 signal i think personally GB for phones is the villian
     
  5. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,836
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,836
    924
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
  6. KrippyKreme

    KrippyKreme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    363
    31
    63
    Data Analyst
    Tennessee
    What's a good, solid dbm to have? I typically have 91 or so.
     
  7. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,836
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,836
    924
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    Not sure, but I sit in the low 80s at home (4 bars) and the best I remember seeing with any of my phones was low 70s.
     
  8. KrippyKreme

    KrippyKreme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    363
    31
    63
    Data Analyst
    Tennessee
    Ya know, Rev...We are like Milo and Otis. We are like Ebony and Ivory. We are like Google and Motorola!
     
  9. aorbpro

    aorbpro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    FWIW, I bought an ADR6350 incredible 2 about a month ago to replace my (rooted) ADR6300 Incredible when its microphone stopped functioning... after 2 years of intense use.

    Inconsistent cellular reception has always been a "given" for my last 4 phones (Nokia, LG, HTC & HTC ) over the last 10th years, probably because of my location. I live on the Gulf Coast shore of Florida with nothing but open water to the south and west of my home.
    In the past I found the Smoda Widget (a dynamic toggler of the phone state from 2G to 3G) an easy way to reset my VZ connection whenever the cell signal was low, slow, or dropped.

    But the Widget is not compatible with my new ADR6350 Inc2 "v2.3.3".
    What DOES restore the cellular signal strength to the Inc2 (here) is: Menu -> Settings -> Wireless & networks -> Mobile networks -> Preferred network -> then marking Global Mode as the Preferred Network.

    Gone NOW is the weak, low, slow, or dropped cell signal. The Inc2 reception here NOW is consistently 4 bars at G3 (Signal Strength: around 79 - 89%, Available, Connected, & Not roaming). Global Mode, YES!
     

Share This Page

Loading...