1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Signal strength

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bob Dobalina, May 5, 2010.

  1. Bob Dobalina

    Bob Dobalina Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    79
    9
    16
    Berumda Triangle
    What is the opinion on the comparison of signal strength? I am a tech junkie. My last Verizon phone had spotty coverage in my house for some reason. I live in a major California area. My current DInc coverage is MUCH worse at my same primary location. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PHONE OTHERWISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    for me its the same as my storm 2 bascially
     
  3. Reddog80p

    Reddog80p Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    334
    39
    43
    Northern Illinois
    I get 3 bars the majority of the time. I do notice that my signal bar will go from 3 bars to 2 bars by simply picking up my phone. It's most likely a software issue. The call quality remains very good.
     
  4. destardi

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    107
    21
    38
    Bob, try calling Verizon or taking it back to the store and ask them to update the PRL to a "hybrid" PRL.

    That's what worked for me; it will use alltel towers as well as verizon towers. (Yes, Alltel in some places was much better than Verizon; the towers around me have not been fully converted yet so PRL was only polling Verizon towers).
     
  5. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    you CANNOT go by the bars, they are jumping around way to much

    settings>about phone>network

    look at the strength there, anything in th -50 to -80 range is pretty good IMO....-50 being the best you can get i think
     

Share This Page

Loading...