1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Signature?

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box & Feedback' started by fonewiz, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Where do I add my signature? I looked in the User CP but no luck.

    Do I need a certain number of post?

    I see other members with signatures but no place to add mine.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joe Dirt

    Joe Dirt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    514
    103
    93
    work for the man.
    TEXAS
    User cp under settings and options, edit signature. You may need a certain number of posts.
     
  3. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Yeah, looked there before and just now again. The Edit Signature option doesn't show up. Maybe I need 10 post or?? Been mostly reading for a long time before I even registered.

    Thanks for your reply. :p
     
  4. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Not sure, but I think I've read that you need 25 posts before you can add a sig.
     
  5. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    Eyebeam is correct... you need 25 posts before you can create and display a signature.

    http://androidforums.com/introductions/704-site-rules-guidelines.html

    Looks like you need 14 more posts till you see this section in your User CP! :)
     
  6. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

  7. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Hmm, strange. I now how 26 post and still no signature option. I even tried logging out and back in. No joy.

    Am I missing something?
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
  9. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    It works and now I can see the link in my User CP as well.

    Can't see my signature though, maybe it takes a new post? I will check it once I post this.
     
  10. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nope, doesn't look like it shows up in my post. But, as mentioned, I can set it now.
     
  11. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Funny, immediately after posting my last response, I could see my signature, now it's missing.
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    It will only show on your first post (perhaps per page IIRC) of a thread. Try posting in a different thread and see if it pops up. :)
     
  13. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,761
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,761
    8,947
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    It should be in the first post of this thread (its retroactive) plus if you use 'quick reply' it will show up, until you refresh....
     
  14. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Still no joy.. I am looking at my first post in this thread and I don't see it. Do you?
     
  15. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Also, while using quick reply.. I reply, then the screen reloads and I see my signature but ONLY on the quick reply. If I hit refresh on the same thread, the signature is then gone.

    So, not trying to make a big deal out of it but I figure the site operators might want to know what's happening.
     
  16. Phases

    Phases NO LONGER ADMIN MSG ROB
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,088
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,088
    20,626
    1,503
    Male
    IT
    Nashville, TN
    I can't seem to figure out why your signature won't work. Everything looks right..
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  17. BlueBiker

    BlueBiker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,534
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,534
    925
    213
    Male
    New England
    I'm getting similar flaky sig behavior. I understand it's supposed to show only the first time on each page, and that certain forums may not have been configured for this special behavior, but it just seems largely broken. In some forums where other users' sigs appear, I can't get mine to show at all. Overall only maybe 10-20% of my sigs appear when they should.
     
  18. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,004
    9,625
    1,433
    UK
    Could you link to an example where you see that?
     
  19. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    I was just looking how to make a signature myself since I could not find the option in my User CP.
    Did a search and found this thread. Thanks for the tip. One more post closer....
     
  20. BlueBiker

    BlueBiker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,534
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,534
    925
    213
    Male
    New England
    Hey Xyro, sorry for the late reply. I'm no longer getting any unexpected sig behavior.

    While there may(?) be individual forums that don't have proper flags set to honor the sig settings, what I was getting before was probably a result of previous thread posts of mine that didn't have any sig which was throwing off my later ensigified posts.
     
  21. MattMrdck

    MattMrdck Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    consultant, for now
    Los Angeles, Ca.
    Just wondering, why 25 posts for just a basic sig - I can see rewarding users w/multiple posts with enhanced sig functions, but I always check sigs for basic info (i.e. OS version / phone model / carrier) which helps gain insight and perspective...

    Just a thought (and another post from a newbie!)
     
  22. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Same reason as the "no links on first post" rule.... it prevents (or at least discourages) people who sign up merely to spam the forums.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  23. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    I have 41 post and still don't see signatures in any of my post in this thread.

    Whatever, tired of worrying about it.

    Let's be honest, it is nice to have a signature at the bottom which allows us forum users to also promote the things we wish to promote. It's not about SPAMMING for me but it is a nice thing to have available to at least allow a link to my website.

    Pretty much all other forums allow this without such hassle so I will just use them.
     
  24. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Of course, now my signature shows up in my latest reply. :rolleyes:
     
  25. fonewiz

    fonewiz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Pretty crazy, now it's gone again.

    This is what I mean, just a hassle.
     

Share This Page

Loading...