1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Silent Mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pharla, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. pharla

    pharla Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    20
    0
    15
    Apologies for another iphone comparison and if this has already been covered, but I can't find the info I need. Plus I really don't want the iphone to have even one ability that isn't the same as or better on Android/Samsung now I have made the switch.

    iphone had a 'switch' at the side, throw that and the phone went into silent mode . It would still receive calls, texts etc, but it wouldn't cause an issue if I happened to be in a silent place (a church maybe?), it would just vibrate and I could take a peek at what it was and either dump it or deal with it.

    Where is that ability on the S3? I have googled and come across 'silent mode', but I don't have it as an option where I have seen it suggested (power button option). I can see airplane made and there is blocking mode, but from what I can see these are not what I am looking for.

    Until yesterday I was on JB, 4.1.1 and today on 4.1.2, but not see this ability on either
     

    Advertisement

  2. davidmanvell

    davidmanvell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    677
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    677
    71
    78
    Male
    Power Quality Specialist for a medical imaging com
    Virginia Beach, VA USA
    In the pull down menus at the top of the phone, the notification area they call it, when you open the notification area you will see a number of toggles there. Depending on which carrier you have you will see different toggles there. One of which should say Sound. On mine (Verizon) it's the third from the left. Click it and it should change to vibrate then to no sound. Once again the exact nature of the toggle may be different from carrier to carrier and even which toggles are present.

    By the way when you pull those toggles down you can scroll them from left to right to see more of them.

    Next version of the OS will have the ability to add and delete toggles they say so if something is present you can add it.
     
    pharla likes this.
  3. pharla

    pharla Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks David

    I must be going mad!!

    I have used that option already but for some reason got it into my head that it stopped the call tone only!!
     
  4. davidmanvell

    davidmanvell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    677
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    677
    71
    78
    Male
    Power Quality Specialist for a medical imaging com
    Virginia Beach, VA USA
    Another thingyou can do is go into your settings/Motion and turn on Turn Over To mute/Pause. This will allow you to flip the phone onto its face to either mute what's playing or to mute an incoming notification/call.
     
    pharla likes this.
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You can also press volume down ;)
     
    pharla likes this.
  6. ronbien

    ronbien Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    215
    47
    53
    Yes pressing volume down and holding it takes it to vibrate. Release and press once more and it is in silent mode.
    Good Luck!
     
    pharla likes this.
  7. pharla

    pharla Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks.

    Not sure the motion one will suit me, but the vol down button does.

    I go straight down to vibrate with no additional options with further presses. But that's cool. It'll cover off my needs
     
  8. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    There are loads of sound profile apps and widgets in Google Play. I use Quick Profiles Pro (which costs
     
    pharla likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...